BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>
Loading


Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > BMW M3 Discussions > E46 M3 (2001-2006) > Coding and Tuning
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

Coding and Tuning Discuss all avenues of coding and tuning here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Tue, Jan-23-2018, 02:11:02 PM   #131
SliM3
Registered User
 
SliM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,564
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 SliM3 is on a distinguished road
Location: Atlanta

United States




Default Re: map switching

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjskalet View Post
Does the same apply for fan speed then as well?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes..
Jump to top SliM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Tue, Jan-23-2018, 02:49:20 PM   #132
Obioban
Moderator
 
Obioban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 36,472
In the garage:
Reputation: 54 Obioban has a spectacular aura about
Location: SE PA

United States




Default Re: map switching

Use with extreme caution, as you can screw things up, but, from Paffy:

Quote:
MSSMapper operation:

MSS54HP ECU has two independent CPUs with 512kb EEPROM each. Almost 256kb on
each CPU is unused. The tune file is 64kb, with 32kb worth of data for each CPU.

The unused space in the EEPROM is split into 32kb blocks on each CPU and the
separate tunes are loaded into those slots. The ECU accesses 99% of KL_ and KF_
maps using a lo okup sub-routines. These subroutines are modified to adjust the
table memory address b ased on the map selected by the driver.

Then there's several processes happening in the background to communicate the
current map information between the CPUs, processing the buttons and notifying
the driver usin g the RPM indicator.


Remapping constants:

Since there's not a single routine to access K_* constants, mapping those
requires a s can of the whole program space and replacing references to the
particular constant fro m EEPROM to a new RAM address instead.

MSSMapper does this using the remaps tables at the bottom of the program
interface. It searches for address on the left and replaces it with address on
the right in the Ful lbinary - that takes care of accessing the constant's
values from RAM insted of EEPROM .


You need to also create a relocation address table in the tune file in order to
activate the switching of values whenever driver initiates a map switch. The
location of rel ocation tables in the tune file are:

For master CPU $8060 and $1200 for slave.

The format is a list of source address (four bytes) + RAM address (four bytes),
ended with 0xffffffff.

The source address is in the actual format used in software and it always copies
a long (32bit), so it needs to be aligned on 4-byte boundary. The RAM I'm using
right now is at the bottom of the stack on each CPU starting at $00ffe530. Each
CPU accesses the EE PROM tune data with base address $00088000.

Example to re-map K_TI_GA:
It's on slave CPU accesed at $00088070. The value in tune file is at address
$0070 (tune file is ordered slave 32kb first, then master 32kb)

Edit your base/main tune file and add following at 0x8060 address (slave
remapping mapping table): 0x00,0x08,0x80,0x70,0x00,0xff,0xe0,0x30

That will tell the ECU software to copy a long(4 bytes) from
$00088070 (adjusted to active map) to $00ffe030 whenever map switch occurs.
In the MSSMapper, under slave remaps, type 0x88070 and 0xffe030
in the first line. That will scan the ECU software and change all
0x88070 references to the RAM location.
__________________

Current Cars: 2005 IR/IR M3, 2001 LMB/blk M5, 03 530i, 04 M3 wagon, and some boring stuff
Past cars: 04 M3, 96 M3, S50B32 e36 M3 CM race car
Jump to top Obioban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Jan-23-2018, 07:45:48 PM   #133
rjskalet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 332
Reputation: 0 rjskalet is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: map switching

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obioban View Post
Use with extreme caution, as you can screw things up, but, from Paffy:
Alright, given that example is something that I need to change as a simple way for me to be able to run pump gas if no e85 is around if I were to follow that example that would give me the ability to change the fuel multiplier with this? That's the main thing I am trying to accomplish. the rev limit, fan speed, etc is minor in comparison to having the ability to switch to pump gas when e85 isn't accessible.

Right now I bring my computer with me everywhere and if i have to switch tunes, I flash it at the gas station which is what I am trying to stop doing haha. does anyone have a screen shot of what that remapping table looks like in hex?

Also is that remapping table a table for the desired values or is it a lookup table that is directing it to look at the values at "tune 1, tune 2 etc"
Jump to top rjskalet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed, Jan-24-2018, 12:38:55 PM   #134
SliM3
Registered User
 
SliM3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,564
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 SliM3 is on a distinguished road
Location: Atlanta

United States




Default Re: map switching

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjskalet View Post
alright, i have tried implementing this program and when i flash the full binary with my bdm tool i am getting an eml light on the dash, and a dme fault error code(p0605). do i need to resync the ews after i make a new full binary with this tool, when i revert back to my ecu pre-mapswitching, i have no issues.
Just a note for everyone, in order to flash with a BDM you must correct the checksums (best to use terra's tool since his is the only I know of that will correct a full binary file as opposed to just a partial). With MSSFlasher the checksums are auto-corrected.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjskalet View Post
Alright, given that example is something that I need to change as a simple way for me to be able to run pump gas if no e85 is around if I were to follow that example that would give me the ability to change the fuel multiplier with this? That's the main thing I am trying to accomplish. the rev limit, fan speed, etc is minor in comparison to having the ability to switch to pump gas when e85 isn't accessible.
Best to use the main fuel maps as opposed to the multiplier. Here are the differences between my pump and E85 maps (about a 20-21% difference between both). Keep in mind that my maps reflect 440cc injectors with about 4 bar fuel pressure.


PUMP GAS




E85

Last edited by SliM3; Wed, Jan-24-2018 at 01:10:52 PM.
Jump to top SliM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed, Jul-11-2018, 02:43:12 PM   #135
rjskalet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 332
Reputation: 0 rjskalet is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: map switching

Coming back to this thread since I got map switching to work for fuel tables, how do i go about adding valet mode (rpm)? i was reading through that repost of paffy about how it works and how to do the fuel factor.

Example to re-map K_TI_GA:
It's on slave CPU accesed at $00088070. The value in tune file is at address
$0070 (tune file is ordered slave 32kb first, then master 32kb)

Edit your base/main tune file and add following at 0x8060 address (slave
remapping mapping table): 0x00,0x08,0x80,0x70,0x00,0xff,0xe0,0x30 (what are these values? replacement values and how would i apply this and i just plugging in those values at that location?)

That will tell the ECU software to copy a long(4 bytes) from
$00088070 (adjusted to active map) to $00ffe030 (is this the correct address because my file is not that big to go to that hex address) whenever map switch occurs.
In the MSSMapper, under slave remaps, type 0x88070 and 0xffe030
in the first line. That will scan the ECU software and change all
0x88070 references to the RAM location.
Jump to top rjskalet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sun, Aug-26-2018, 01:25:01 AM   #136
psing23
Registered User
 
psing23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 49
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 psing23 is on a distinguished road
Location: South Florida

United States




Default Re: map switching

Is the MSSMapper still working and being supported?
Is it safe to order it from the website? I see that Paffy has been MIA but the website was renewed till 2020 I believe.
I was interested in having a few different maps for my supercharged m3 like a regular 93 map, a race gas map, e85 etc.
I do still have a mss54 non-hp version so I need to get that upgraded first, but before I do that I wanted to make sure the MSSMapper and MSSFlasher are still being supported and OK to pay for and download. Thanks.
Jump to top psing23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Fri, Aug-31-2018, 02:50:31 AM   #137
gixxer
Registered User
 
gixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,704
Reputation: 0 gixxer is on a distinguished road





Default Re: map switching

Bump.

I'm also interested in the method.

Currently i carry 4 timing maps,

a) pump 93 + meth
b) pump 93 + meth + nos
c) race gas 101 + meth
d) race gas 101 + meth + nos

, and programming using handheld device, DIMSPORT's MyGenius unit.

This approach has several limitations including using up the fixed flash count limit, which afterwards i'm told the DME needs to be cleared of the limit. This can be repeated but i believe S54 DME has limits on number of times the map can be flashed.


Anyone heard back from MSS Tuning?
__________________
need2buy: LTW flywheel + clutch ;
wish: HPF ;
Mod Journal
Jump to top gixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Fri, Sep-07-2018, 03:26:04 AM   #138
gixxer
Registered User
 
gixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,704
Reputation: 0 gixxer is on a distinguished road





Default Re: map switching

Will be doing this setup next week at local bimmer shop (Bimmer Performance Center) that have done this enough times. Will report back.
__________________
need2buy: LTW flywheel + clutch ;
wish: HPF ;
Mod Journal
Jump to top gixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Oct-16-2018, 07:41:50 PM   #139
gixxer
Registered User
 
gixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,704
Reputation: 0 gixxer is on a distinguished road





Default Re: map switching

Quote:
Originally Posted by gixxer View Post
Will be doing this setup next week at local bimmer shop (Bimmer Performance Center) that have done this enough times. Will report back.
Got this done yesterday (i have the HP varient of DME in 2004 MY), carrying 3 tunes,

Tune #0 (base) - pump 93 + meth
Tune #1 - race gas 101 + meth
Tune #2 - "pump or race gas + meth + nos

(no valet mode needed)

At the moment the IDLE is rough at tune #0, so going back to shop tomorrow morning to take care of that.

Next stop though is see if E85 timing/fuel map can be added.
__________________
need2buy: LTW flywheel + clutch ;
wish: HPF ;
Mod Journal
Jump to top gixxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mon, Oct-29-2018, 09:23:36 PM   #140
R3Z3N
E30 S54
 
R3Z3N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 25
Reputation: 0 R3Z3N is on a distinguished road
Location: Solvang

United States




Default Re: map switching

As a heads up, I just bought MSSFlasher and received my serial number, so either Paffy has an automated script that will email you the support key, or he still checks his email/paypal.
Jump to top R3Z3N is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:48:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
M3Forum.com and M3forum.net is in no way sponsored, endorsed or affiliated by or with BMW NA / BMW AG or any of it's subsidiaries or vendors.
BMW and M3 (E90 M3 | E92 M3 | E93 M3 | E46 M3 | E36 M3 | E30 M3) are registered trademarks of BMW AG.
M3Forum Terms of Service
Copyright 1999-2017 M3Forum.com
Discussing map switching in the Coding and Tuning Forum - Discuss all avenues of coding and tuning here! at BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X)