BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>

Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > BMW M3 Discussions > E46 M3 (2001-2006)
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

E46 M3 (2001-2006) Engine: S54 - Max Hp: 333 hp at 7,900 rpm / 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpm
Total Produced: 45,000+ - Years Produced: 2001 to 2006.

Old Mon, Jul-11-2016, 07:45:34 AM   #1
nascar_acj

In the garage:

United States

Default '05 SMG M3 Wouldn't Shift Into 6th at low speed?

Okay, I'm losing my mind.

I'm one of those people who trots along in a higher gear even while going slow. I've been driving my '05 M3 for 4 1/2 years now and I cannot recall a time it didnt go into 6th around 35 mph (insane, I know, leave me alone)

Today driving along I was going about 35-40 and it wouldn't shift into 6th, but downshifted normally, upshifted back to 5th normally, etc. It wasn't until I really accelerated suddenly and got up to about 40-45 that I was able to shift into 6th. I should add, this happened about 3 mins after the SMG stalled while going over a low slope and coming to a stop trying to exit a parking lot. It hasn't stalled much at all lately, but in serious heat (like now, help) it will typically stall about once a month in reverse very slow or a drive-thru, so basically 3 times a year or so. Nothing significant.

So since everything seems that it's okay other than that weird moment, just wondering, what's the lowest speed for 6th gear? I though 30 mph was when you could engage it, but I obviously haven't been paying attention for 4 1/2 dang years.

Sorry for the silly question, but it led me to just wanting to know a few more facts about it. Thanks in advance.
Jump to top nascar_acj is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads