BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>
Loading


Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > M3Forum Garage > Forced Induction (F/I)
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

Forced Induction (F/I) Discuss the ever growing F/I options here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sat, Jun-28-2008, 02:47:03 AM   #1
gixxer
Registered User
 
gixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,703
Reputation: 0 gixxer is on a distinguished road





Default Is this crazy and even doable? Have two DME's, one with pump map, and other race map

Is this crazy?

If not that crazy, is this even doable?

That is, have two DME's,

* one with pump map from AA, and
* one for race(+meth+nitrous) map (more/aggressive timing) from AA?

So while i'm on 93 pump gas, use the DME with pump map.

When when i'm on VP MS109/110 unleaded, use the other DME with with more aggressive timing map.

I understand that DME do adapt to the environment, and add timing when race gas (and meth) is used.

I'm not even sure if you can use one DME for one week, and use a different DME next week.

That is, whether the new DME can be made to work in the car, and then have AA program it with race map, and have it used in the car, interchangeably with the original DME.

This is pretty stupid idea? Yes? No?

(not to mention new DME probably would cost an arm and a leg, and not to mention, cost to get it programmed to even have it work in the car by the dealer)
__________________
need2buy: LTW flywheel + clutch ;
wish: HPF ;
Mod Journal
Jump to top gixxer is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Sat, Jun-28-2008, 03:51:08 AM   #2
WizeGi///M3
Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Age: 39
Posts: 3,121
Reputation: 11 WizeGi///M3 is on a distinguished road
Location: Panhandle

United States




Default

For that type of effort may as well just go with a Motec - also having 2 DMEs isn't possible.
__________________
Carmen™
e92 M3 Competition Edition
Jump to top WizeGi///M3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jun-28-2008, 07:04:23 AM   #3
Sertan
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 525
Reputation: 0 Sertan is on a distinguished road





Default

yes with a motex you will have 4 different maps, can go from one to the other map with the touch of a botton. i am working on a motec for my E46 M3 these days.
Jump to top Sertan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jun-28-2008, 10:38:28 AM   #4
Saintly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 367
Reputation: 0 Saintly is on a distinguished road
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Australia




Default

If they both have the same software version then you can interchange but then you would need the software to align the EWS. I have two ECU's as I flashed one too many times whilst testing its locked with pump/track map

The next thing is you will be surprised how much hp you will pick up by adding race gas mix the Ecu will adapt.

I did this just last week with a customers AA charged car made 360rwhp I put 20l c16 in he had just over 1/4 of a tank of pump (50/50) and he made 403rwhp after 2nd run, I changed nothing else! I see this result often.

Just my
__________________

508rwhp Dynodynamics AA charged 9psi race gas(no nos) 11.618@122.65mph
521rwhp Dynodynamics AA charged 9psi race gas(125shot) 11.412@126.09mph(Best trap 129.72mph)
611rwhp Dynodynamics AA charged 9psi race gas(150shot) 11.7@129.49mph
631Rwhp highest HP to date.

Now: 528rwhp Dynodynamics 13psi Pump Fuel AA Charged
552rwhp Dynodynamics 13psi Race Fuel AA Charged
Jump to top Saintly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jun-28-2008, 02:07:07 PM   #5
zracer196
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 216
Reputation: 0 zracer196 is on a distinguished road
Location: Apopka, FL

United States




Default

Gixxer,

How is your car? Enjoying it? I think you had the kit finally installed a month ago...Correct?

Have fun!
__________________
1999 Viper GTS - Silver with Blue Stripes / 1 of 22 / Borla Cat Back

2006 Yamaha R6 - Bone Stock - FOR SALE

2007 KTM XCF 250 - R2 Suspension / Fasst Bars / FMF Ti Pipe / Ohlins Damper
Jump to top zracer196 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jun-28-2008, 02:43:23 PM   #6
ActiveAutowerke
Simply Genius
 
ActiveAutowerke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,506
Reputation: 0 ActiveAutowerke is on a distinguished road
Location: Miami

United States




Default

Two dme's is not possible.

The E46 M3's DME has a rolling EWS code. So if you remove the EWS and attempt to crank the car you will have to get it realigned. This would be more of a headache to keep realigning your DME's.

Turning off EWS is not possible on the S54's DME.

As saintly mentioned just adding better octane is fine since the DME will adapt.
__________________
Jump to top ActiveAutowerke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jun-28-2008, 04:02:05 PM   #7
///JTM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 270
Reputation: 0 ///JTM3 is on a distinguished road
Location: Palmdale





Default

What about if you had your own Auto Logic tool, and you can realigne the EWS when ever you want..
__________________



Jump to top ///JTM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jun-28-2008, 05:28:26 PM   #8
JTrejo
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Age: 38
Posts: 2,445
Reputation: 0 JTrejo is on a distinguished road
Location: Riverside, Socal

Guatemala




Default

how much is a motec?
Jump to top JTrejo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jun-28-2008, 06:16:32 PM   #9
white333
function over form
 
white333's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,709
Reputation: 0 white333 is on a distinguished road
Location: orlando

United States




Default

Here is one for you; why not make it so that on the dme you could switch between two maps via a switch? Think of it like this. When your car goes into limp mode have that mode be your race setting! If the audi guys could do this than why not us?
__________________
"No passion so effectually robs the mind of all its powers of acting & reasoning as fear" Edmund Burke
Jump to top white333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jun-28-2008, 06:23:22 PM   #10
AMG ETR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 698
Reputation: 0 AMG ETR is on a distinguished road
Location: West Palm Beach, FL

United States




Default

Why wouldn't you just have 2 maps on the 1 ECU? I know of a tuner near me that can tune your car on pump and race and make the race gas file turn on when you press the sport button (or any other button for that matter)!! Very cool
Evan
Jump to top AMG ETR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Member Map Hyolee E36 M3 (1992-1999) 102 Wed, Apr-25-2018 01:19:17 PM
re-map kings E36 M3 (1992-1999) 15 Thu, Apr-03-2008 05:04:34 PM
Active Autowerke Completes Level 1 SC kit & Customer Dyno's Custom Race Gas Map*VIDS* ActiveAutowerke Forced Induction (F/I) 2 Thu, Oct-11-2007 05:43:59 AM
Re-Map Dommo80 E36 M3 (1992-1999) 0 Sun, May-14-2006 06:55:53 PM
Add yourself to the map Ketsugo E46 M3 (2001-2006) 30 Sun, Oct-16-2005 03:09:03 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:54:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
M3Forum.com and M3forum.net is in no way sponsored, endorsed or affiliated by or with BMW NA / BMW AG or any of it's subsidiaries or vendors.
BMW and M3 (E90 M3 | E92 M3 | E93 M3 | E46 M3 | E36 M3 | E30 M3) are registered trademarks of BMW AG.
M3Forum Terms of Service
Copyright ©1999-2017 M3Forum.com
Discussing Is this crazy and even doable? Have two DME's, one with pump map, and other race map in the Forced Induction (F/I) Forum - Discuss the ever growing F/I options here! at BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X)