BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>
Loading


Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > BMW M3 Discussions > E36 M3 (1992-1999)
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

E36 M3 (1992-1999) {Euro - S50 B32 321hp @ 7400 rpm} {U.S. - S52 B32 240 hp @ 6000 rpm}
Total Produced: 71,212 - Years Produced: 1992 to 1999


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Wed, Dec-03-2008, 09:32:37 PM   #31
zottyzot
Registered User
 
zottyzot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 940
Reputation: 0 zottyzot is on a distinguished road
Location: Abington, PA

United States




Default

Well, I took out and disassembled my head unit...The circuit board on the back of my tape mechanism looks nothing like the pic.* If anyone can help, I could use it.*edit* It appears I have a c43...
__________________

Last edited by zottyzot; Wed, Dec-03-2008 at 09:40:19 PM.
Jump to top zottyzot is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Thu, Dec-04-2008, 03:21:00 AM   #32
zoti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 373
Reputation: 0 zoti is on a distinguished road

United States




Default

Post a really big close up picture of the circuit board on the tape mechanism.
Jump to top zoti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Thu, Dec-04-2008, 12:31:00 PM   #33
zottyzot
Registered User
 
zottyzot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 940
Reputation: 0 zottyzot is on a distinguished road
Location: Abington, PA

United States




Default

Here's a pic of the circuit board on the back of the tape deck.
__________________

Last edited by zottyzot; Thu, Dec-04-2008 at 09:04:14 PM.
Jump to top zottyzot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Thu, Dec-04-2008, 10:52:33 PM   #34
zoti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 373
Reputation: 0 zoti is on a distinguished road

United States




Default

Post one from a similar angle to the one below.

In the picture below you can see 2 PCB (electronic boards). The one on the back like in the picture you posted and the one which is on the top of the tape mechanism. The second board was covered by a metal plate which was held by 2 screws. Try to find that board on your tape mechanism.

If you look closely right above where the wires are soldered into the back PCB you will be able to see the following markings: S-GND (ground), L-CH (left channel) and R (Right Channel). The correspond with the connections I made at the back PCB.
Those are the connection we are trying to find on your top PCB. Try to find them and post a picture so we can confirm.

Jump to top zoti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Thu, Dec-04-2008, 11:23:04 PM   #35
zottyzot
Registered User
 
zottyzot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 940
Reputation: 0 zottyzot is on a distinguished road
Location: Abington, PA

United States




Default

Okie Dokie, here's what I've got. First, there is no circuit board on TOP of the deck, only the one on the back. I can make out some solder points that are labeled LF, LR, RF, RR, and GND, I assume these are speaker points, I cant find an RC or LC. But here are some pics.This is the bottom/back of the head unit itself...
__________________
Jump to top zottyzot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Thu, Dec-04-2008, 11:25:47 PM   #36
zottyzot
Registered User
 
zottyzot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 940
Reputation: 0 zottyzot is on a distinguished road
Location: Abington, PA

United States




Default

OK!! How do I get the pics and the text the way I want?? The text always seems to wrap around in ways I dont intend...
__________________
Jump to top zottyzot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Thu, Dec-04-2008, 11:41:50 PM   #37
zoti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 373
Reputation: 0 zoti is on a distinguished road

United States




Default

You see that brown tape on the left side of the tape mechanism? It goes from the cassette reading head to the board. It's a bit hard to see in the picture but it does have 3 wires in it, right?
I believe this is where you want to tap in but I suggest you test everything first before you solder and close the radio.

Jump to top zoti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Thu, Dec-04-2008, 11:51:23 PM   #38
zottyzot
Registered User
 
zottyzot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 940
Reputation: 0 zottyzot is on a distinguished road
Location: Abington, PA

United States




Default

It actually has 5 wires in it...It's hard to tell but it looks like the two outermost on either side are joined at the circuit board and only the center one remains solo. So, if thats correct, yes there are only 3 wires. If ya know what I'm sayin.
__________________
Jump to top zottyzot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Fri, Dec-05-2008, 12:02:04 AM   #39
zoti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 373
Reputation: 0 zoti is on a distinguished road

United States




Default

It has 5 wires because the head can read side A and side B of the tape. That is why the 5 wires turn into 3. Each left channel is joined together and then each right channel as well while ground is just 1 wire. You will need to find teh L and R channels by hooking it up and then playing with the Balance feature on the tape. If it work correctly you got it right. If it is switched then you got it wrong.
Jump to top zoti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Fri, Dec-05-2008, 12:14:37 AM   #40
zottyzot
Registered User
 
zottyzot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 940
Reputation: 0 zottyzot is on a distinguished road
Location: Abington, PA

United States




Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zoti View Post
It has 5 wires because the head can read side A and side B of the tape. That is why the 5 wires turn into 3. Each left channel is joined together and then each right channel as well while ground is just 1 wire. You will need to find teh L and R channels by hooking it up and then playing with the Balance feature on the tape. If it work correctly you got it right. If it is switched then you got it wrong.
You are apparently "Da man" , Thanks Zoti I'll let you know how it works.
__________________
Jump to top zottyzot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
adding, auxiliary, c33, diy, input, radio

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY - Auxiliary Audio Input Kit JerDevil E46 M3 (2001-2006) 54 Fri, Mar-30-2012 06:22:39 PM
Need auxiliary input install help R Salesman Audio/In Car Entertainment (I.C.E.) 5 Mon, Jul-30-2007 06:37:41 PM
Alpine C33 radio tool vs Blaupunkt C34 radio tool bigneil E36 M3 (1992-1999) 1 Sun, Aug-13-2006 11:48:53 AM
Auxiliary Input Install halt00 E46 M3 (2001-2006) 30 Wed, May-05-2004 01:56:22 AM
Where is the auxiliary input located? Jared Kaplan E46 M3 (2001-2006) 7 Wed, Mar-26-2003 09:42:14 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:39:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
M3Forum.com and M3forum.net is in no way sponsored, endorsed or affiliated by or with BMW NA / BMW AG or any of it's subsidiaries or vendors.
BMW and M3 (E90 M3 | E92 M3 | E93 M3 | E46 M3 | E36 M3 | E30 M3) are registered trademarks of BMW AG.
M3Forum Terms of Service
Copyright 1999-2017 M3Forum.com
Discussing DIY - Adding auxiliary input to your radio (C33) in the E36 M3 (1992-1999) Forum - {Euro - S50 B32 321hp @ 7400 rpm} {U.S. - S52 B32 240 hp @ 6000 rpm}
Total Produced: 71,212 - Years Produced: 1992 to 1999 at BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X)