BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>
Loading


Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > BMW M3 Discussions > E46 M3 (2001-2006)
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

E46 M3 (2001-2006) Engine: S54 - Max Hp: 333 hp at 7,900 rpm / 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpm
Total Produced: 45,000+ - Years Produced: 2001 to 2006.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Fri, Mar-23-2018, 04:56:45 PM   #1
ClutchKickChris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,684
Reputation: 0 ClutchKickChris is on a distinguished road
Location: Tampa

United States




Question S54 Clutch Switch Confusion

Hey guys so long story short I have a S54 swapped E36 M3 with MSS54HP, CSL tune and 6spd 420G and it's awesome. Only issue is sometimes when starting from a stop and transitioning the clutch the car wants to stall. The RPM's will drop to 5-600RPM and I'll have to "catch it" in time or it will actually stall.

Talking with my tuner he has told me I need to add the OEM clutch switch to my car since it changes the IACV duty cycle. Doing some research it looks like there were 2 styles of this, one with simple on/off switches and later years using an actual hall effect sensor built into the clutch slave cylinder.

Since my donor vehicle was an 06 vert I am trying to figure out the correct switch and wiring, and if it will actually make a difference to the clutching performance.

The older Z3M S54 EWD I have (attached) shows this is a 3 wire switch, +12V, Gnd, and output. Is this the correct one? If anyone has the 05/06 EWD please post it.

Any info is appreciated. Engine bay pic for attention
Attached Images
File Type: png unnamed.png (117.7 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg 20180301_234756 (Medium).jpg (274.1 KB, 55 views)
__________________



Last edited by ClutchKickChris; Fri, Mar-23-2018 at 05:06:08 PM.
Jump to top ClutchKickChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Fri, Mar-23-2018, 06:40:44 PM   #2
Pnick
Registered User
 
Pnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 816
Reputation: 0 Pnick is on a distinguished road
Location: Jax

United States




Default Re: S54 "clutch switch" confusion

There is a slight difference. Yours fall under "DME Motor Electronics MSS54 as of 2001_03.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Clutch.jpg (223.4 KB, 31 views)
__________________

05-SMG/IB/CINN/ZCP/SUNROOF_DELETE
If they don't meet your standards, lower yours!
Jump to top Pnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Fri, Mar-23-2018, 08:40:31 PM   #3
ClutchKickChris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,684
Reputation: 0 ClutchKickChris is on a distinguished road
Location: Tampa

United States




Default Re: S54 "clutch switch" confusion

Got it thanks.

So does the clutch switch apply 12V or Gnd to pin 20 X60002?

Also is it open or closed circuit when the clutch is depressed (pushed down)?
__________________


Jump to top ClutchKickChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Mar-24-2018, 01:03:19 PM   #4
Pnick
Registered User
 
Pnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 816
Reputation: 0 Pnick is on a distinguished road
Location: Jax

United States




Default Re: S54 "clutch switch" confusion

I'm not really sure whether it is "voltage applied" or might could be a feedback/signal to the DME since it is a "Hall Effect" switch. Voltage is applied across the 5A fuse and ground X217
__________________

05-SMG/IB/CINN/ZCP/SUNROOF_DELETE
If they don't meet your standards, lower yours!
Jump to top Pnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Mar-24-2018, 01:37:54 PM   #5
PenguinScotty
Registered User
 
PenguinScotty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 223
Reputation: 0 PenguinScotty is on a distinguished road
Location: Atlanta, US/Graz, AUT

Austria




Default Re: S54 "clutch switch" confusion

Glad i found this thread. Started noticing the same issue with my 2002, sometimes the RPM dropping and even stalling if i don't catch it.

Time for a new switch.

Love these forums!
__________________

'98 E36 M3 Evo - Techno Violet, '02 E46 M3 - Titansilber
Jump to top PenguinScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Mar-24-2018, 02:21:41 PM   #6
terraphantm
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11,663
In the garage:
Reputation: 11 terraphantm is on a distinguished road
Location: Philadelphia

United States




Default Re: S54 "clutch switch" confusion

The year doesn't matter - all the DMEs see more or less the same signal regardless of what style switch you use. On an E36, it's probably easier to retrofit the Z3M style setup and wire it as per the Z3M. For coding, put it in "E36" mode, by setting 0x6 and 0x8006 to 08 (default should be 20). That will configure the DME to work a bit better in E36 generation cars. Together, that should stabilize your idle RPMs.



If I remember correctly, the top switch is the one that's wired to the DME. And the part number you want is 61318363710 despite it being labeled a "start lock" switch. The bottom switch (also same part number) is used for the clutch interlock on US cars.
__________________

Last edited by terraphantm; Sat, Mar-24-2018 at 02:35:30 PM.
Jump to top terraphantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sun, Mar-25-2018, 02:54:07 AM   #7
ClutchKickChris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,684
Reputation: 0 ClutchKickChris is on a distinguished road
Location: Tampa

United States




Default Re: S54 "clutch switch" confusion

Thanks terraphantm. What exactly is the "E36 coding" doing that makes it better?

Edit:

I should also probably set this too right? Any advantage for me to hook up gear position switch in series?
Set K_SKRAFTS_CONTROL (0x4028 in MSS54, and 0x802A in MSS54HP) to "2" (tells DME clutch switch is wired directly to the DME instead of in series with the "gear position" sensor in the transmission)
__________________



Last edited by ClutchKickChris; Sun, Mar-25-2018 at 02:57:36 AM.
Jump to top ClutchKickChris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sun, Mar-25-2018, 03:17:57 AM   #8
terraphantm
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11,663
In the garage:
Reputation: 11 terraphantm is on a distinguished road
Location: Philadelphia

United States




Default Re: S54 "clutch switch" confusion

Yeah you should do that too.

E36 mode sets it so the DME works a bit better with E36 generation electronics. DME doesn't look for a coolant output temperature. It doesn't look for a torque value from the AC compressor, instead it calculates it on its own. It won't throw an error for the gear recognition sensor not being there (in combination with the K_SKRAFTS_CONTROL change). There's probably a few other minor differences too
__________________
Jump to top terraphantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sun, Mar-25-2018, 05:21:54 AM   #9
STAATS
Registered User
 
STAATS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 353
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 STAATS is on a distinguished road

Australia




Default Re: S54 "clutch switch" confusion

Somewhat off topic and more for a laugh then adding any value to this actual topic but I just wanted to point out the hilarious coincidence that your Screen Name is "ClutchKickChris" and the issue you are having is with your clutch haha... sorry it just made me chuckle... hope you get it sorted out, looks like other more useful people than I have already given you the details you need.
__________________
STAATS

BMW E46 M3 Vehicle Log Book & Service Tracker Tool: http://www.m3forum.net/m3forum/showthread.php?t=564731

BMW E46 M3 Vehicle Data Record & Modification Journal Template: http://www.m3forum.net/m3forum/showthread.php?t=566440

2003 BMW E46 M3 Street / Road Rally Build: http://www.m3forum.net/m3forum/showthread.php?t=566468
Jump to top STAATS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mon, Apr-16-2018, 03:37:33 PM   #10
Bert ///M3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 142
Reputation: 0 Bert ///M3 is on a distinguished road

Netherlands




Default Re: S54 "clutch switch" confusion

Stumbled upon this.

I have no clutch switch wired to my DME in a E36 at all. Can I set K_SKRAFTS_Control to something else, ie 0 if I have no clutch switch at all? (Euro cars have no start interlock switch) default is 01

And what about E36 mode? I would think 0x6 and 0x8006 is correct for MSS54HP, but for regular MSS54, do I change both 0x6 and 0x4006? (Both default to 20)

Last edited by Bert ///M3; Mon, Apr-16-2018 at 03:49:30 PM.
Jump to top Bert ///M3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:05:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
M3Forum.com and M3forum.net is in no way sponsored, endorsed or affiliated by or with BMW NA / BMW AG or any of it's subsidiaries or vendors.
BMW and M3 (E90 M3 | E92 M3 | E93 M3 | E46 M3 | E36 M3 | E30 M3) are registered trademarks of BMW AG.
M3Forum Terms of Service
Copyright 1999-2017 M3Forum.com
Discussing S54 "clutch switch" confusion in the E46 M3 (2001-2006) Forum - Engine: S54 - Max Hp: 333 hp at 7,900 rpm / 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpm
Total Produced: 45,000+ - Years Produced: 2001 to 2006. at BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X)