BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>
Loading


Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > BMW M3 Discussions > E46 M3 (2001-2006)
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

E46 M3 (2001-2006) Engine: S54 - Max Hp: 333 hp at 7,900 rpm / 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpm
Total Produced: 45,000+ - Years Produced: 2001 to 2006.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mon, Jul-10-2017, 07:01:31 PM   #21
E46_USMC
Registered User
 
E46_USMC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 356
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 E46_USMC is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: I attempted a M3 Swap and failed

Dude the hard part is over! I bet its something so stupid, you're going to kick yourself for overlooking it.

You must not be married. I know this because she would have killed you before you had the chance to post this.
Jump to top E46_USMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Mon, Jul-10-2017, 08:10:06 PM   #22
Jaap
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 137
Reputation: 0 Jaap is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: I attempted a M3 Swap and failed

Did you replace the DME or reprogram it?
Is your VIN written correctly on all units that need it (DME, EWS, DSC if i remember correctly)?
Do you have access to INPA or DIS?
Jump to top Jaap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mon, Jul-10-2017, 08:37:09 PM   #23
fattycharged
can't even
 
fattycharged's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,179
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 fattycharged has disabled reputation
Location: brrrrrrrap

Zimbabwe




Default Re: I attempted a M3 Swap and failed

this thread makes zero cents, costed way too much of my time so I had to post
__________________
Topo Chico
Jump to top fattycharged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mon, Jul-10-2017, 09:00:59 PM   #24
ThunderMoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,150
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 ThunderMoose is on a distinguished road
Location: League City

United States




Default Re: I attempted a M3 Swap and failed

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickSM View Post
I realize that the car is "supposed" to still start before reprogramming the software (to tell the car it's now a manual not an SMG) but could that be part of the problem? I didn't see any mention of reprogramming in your post.

I have never reprogrammed mine and it runs to redline. If you don't program it, the SMG ECU needs to be connected to the DME to get past limp mode but it will start and run even with SMG computer removed.

Literally, you need 1 wire to EWS to make the car start without programming.
__________________


#67 2014, 2015, 2016 NASA TX TT3 Runner-up,

FLMS Half Cage, RaceTech 4009HR drivers seat, Schroth 6-Pt Harness, E.S.S. Fire System, AIM SOLO DL with ECU Harness, SmartyCam, Angle Aluminum with VAC dead pedal, Sparco Steering Wheel on MOMO hub, MCS Suspension, Hyperco 800F 900R springs, Hotchkis Front and Rear Sway bars, Vorshlag Camber Plates, Turner ARCA, AJ Hartman Front Splitter, BW V2 Wing, BW CF Rear Diffuser, APEX ARC-8 wheels, Brembo BBK Front, Carbon Fiber Roof, CF Headlight Blanks, Door Windows and Cards Delete, TMS rear and front subframe reinforcement, Zionsville Competition Cooler, BW Oil Cooler, Oil Diverter Valve, Motorsports Thermostat, Evolve CF Intake, Epic Stepped Headers, Turner Pulleys, BW 3.5" Race Exhaust, EPIC Alpha N Tune, 288/280 Cat Cams, Beisan Oil Disk and Vanos Seals, ZF 5MT, CAE Ultra Shifter

My track journal: http://www.m3forum.net/m3forum/showthread.php?t=509148
Jump to top ThunderMoose is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mon, Jul-10-2017, 09:18:52 PM   #25
ThunderMoose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,150
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 ThunderMoose is on a distinguished road
Location: League City

United States




Default Re: I attempted a M3 Swap and failed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obioban View Post
My SMG knowledge is near 0 (neither car has it), but SMG cars I've driven won't turn on if the hood is open...?


They are definitely finicky. I could be mis remembering but easy for OP to test. I am interested to know if he's pushing in clutch when he tries to start. Also to learn how he powered the clutch switch. The guide has you tapping into brake switch but I ran a separate feed from the fuse box.
__________________


#67 2014, 2015, 2016 NASA TX TT3 Runner-up,

FLMS Half Cage, RaceTech 4009HR drivers seat, Schroth 6-Pt Harness, E.S.S. Fire System, AIM SOLO DL with ECU Harness, SmartyCam, Angle Aluminum with VAC dead pedal, Sparco Steering Wheel on MOMO hub, MCS Suspension, Hyperco 800F 900R springs, Hotchkis Front and Rear Sway bars, Vorshlag Camber Plates, Turner ARCA, AJ Hartman Front Splitter, BW V2 Wing, BW CF Rear Diffuser, APEX ARC-8 wheels, Brembo BBK Front, Carbon Fiber Roof, CF Headlight Blanks, Door Windows and Cards Delete, TMS rear and front subframe reinforcement, Zionsville Competition Cooler, BW Oil Cooler, Oil Diverter Valve, Motorsports Thermostat, Evolve CF Intake, Epic Stepped Headers, Turner Pulleys, BW 3.5" Race Exhaust, EPIC Alpha N Tune, 288/280 Cat Cams, Beisan Oil Disk and Vanos Seals, ZF 5MT, CAE Ultra Shifter

My track journal: http://www.m3forum.net/m3forum/showthread.php?t=509148
Jump to top ThunderMoose is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Mon, Jul-10-2017, 10:14:28 PM   #26
Dave B
M3 collector
 
Dave B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 3,911
Reputation: 0 Dave B is on a distinguished road
Location: Miami

Italy




Default Re: I attempted a M3 Swap and failed

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderMoose View Post
They are definitely finicky. I could be mis remembering but easy for OP to test. I am interested to know if he's pushing in clutch when he tries to start. Also to learn how he powered the clutch switch. The guide has you tapping into brake switch but I ran a separate feed from the fuse box.
Yeah, if it doesn't even turn over once it seems to me like maybe the switch isn't working properly. Even mis-wired, the thing ought to start otherwise.

As for SMGs, it should start but not allow you to put it in gear if the hood is open. At least that's how mine is. Hood switches can be finicky, though, from what I know of them.
Jump to top Dave B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mon, Jul-10-2017, 11:24:33 PM   #27
ajb211
Registered User
 
ajb211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 26
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 ajb211 is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: I attempted a M3 Swap and failed

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderMoose View Post
Stupid question but are you pushing in clutch when you try to start?

Also do you have access to INPA to see if clutch switch is activating.
Lol yes to the first one.

but actually no to the 2nd
Jump to top ajb211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mon, Jul-10-2017, 11:26:05 PM   #28
ajb211
Registered User
 
ajb211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 26
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 ajb211 is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: I attempted a M3 Swap and failed

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderMoose View Post
They are definitely finicky. I could be mis remembering but easy for OP to test. I am interested to know if he's pushing in clutch when he tries to start. Also to learn how he powered the clutch switch. The guide has you tapping into brake switch but I ran a separate feed from the fuse box.
Hey i am pushing in the clutch when i try to start it.

and here is how i wired the car

http://www.m3forum.net/m3forum/showthread.php?t=546749
Jump to top ajb211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mon, Jul-10-2017, 11:27:50 PM   #29
ajb211
Registered User
 
ajb211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 26
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 ajb211 is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: I attempted a M3 Swap and failed

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickSM View Post
I realize that the car is "supposed" to still start before reprogramming the software (to tell the car it's now a manual not an SMG) but could that be part of the problem? I didn't see any mention of reprogramming in your post.
that's correct i did not touch the computer in the car yet. but i am under the impression that i should be able to start it without any programming. could that be the issue?
Jump to top ajb211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mon, Jul-10-2017, 11:31:05 PM   #30
ajb211
Registered User
 
ajb211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 26
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 ajb211 is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: I attempted a M3 Swap and failed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaap View Post
Did you replace the DME or reprogram it?
Is your VIN written correctly on all units that need it (DME, EWS, DSC if i remember correctly)?
Do you have access to INPA or DIS?
Are you saying i should check if the VIN matches on all of those components? if so i will check.

Also i do not have access to INPA or DIS. The original plan was to limp mode drive it to a shop and have them do the programming.
Jump to top ajb211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:42:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
M3Forum.com and M3forum.net is in no way sponsored, endorsed or affiliated by or with BMW NA / BMW AG or any of it's subsidiaries or vendors.
BMW and M3 (E90 M3 | E92 M3 | E93 M3 | E46 M3 | E36 M3 | E30 M3) are registered trademarks of BMW AG.
M3Forum Terms of Service
Copyright 1999-2017 M3Forum.com
Discussing I attempted a M3 Swap and succeeded! in the E46 M3 (2001-2006) Forum - Engine: S54 - Max Hp: 333 hp at 7,900 rpm / 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpm
Total Produced: 45,000+ - Years Produced: 2001 to 2006. at BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X)