BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>
Loading


Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > BMW M3 Discussions > E46 M3 (2001-2006)
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

E46 M3 (2001-2006) Engine: S54 - Max Hp: 333 hp at 7,900 rpm / 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpm
Total Produced: 45,000+ - Years Produced: 2001 to 2006.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Tue, Mar-13-2018, 01:28:12 PM   #1
elcidce91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 23
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 elcidce91 is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Aux Cable Volume Problems

I have a 2003 Convertible with factory navigation with Harmon Kardon. In December I installed a BMW Aux cable into the radio. I installed it into the wire harness in the back of the radio. I added the aux connection into the ash tray bottom. I was using a bluetooth adaptor to play music through the Aux cable. After a few weeks the volume on the Aux input from my phone was very low. I cant hear it well over the noise when the car is running. The regular radio and CD player still work correctly.

I checked the bluetooth volume on the phone, and the volume of the stereo, but it didnt help. I bought a straight plug to play the phone into the Aux cable and it didnt seem to fix it.

Before I take the radio out to check the connection in the dash is there anything I could have missed?
Thanks
Jump to top elcidce91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Tue, Mar-13-2018, 03:28:49 PM   #2
silvergray545
Registered User
 
silvergray545's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 958
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 silvergray545 is on a distinguished road
Location: Cleveland

United States




Default Re: Aux Cable Volume Problems

My AUX volume is very low, as well. I have to crank up the stereo to get to a normal volume level. I installed mine in 2015 and never looked into it. Just assumed that's how it works.
__________________
2004 BMW M3 6MT - TiAg/Gray
2016 BMW M3 ZCP 6MT - AW/SO
2000 BMW M Roadster 5MT - TiAg/Black
2014 VW GLI 6MT - Black/Black


E46 M3 Build Journal
Jump to top silvergray545 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Mar-13-2018, 04:00:54 PM   #3
JamesSJ1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 347
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 JamesSJ1 is on a distinguished road
Location: Fremont, CA

United States




Default Re: Aux Cable Volume Problems

I have this same aux input, and like others the volume is low compared to the radio levels. The obvious part is that for line output on your phone, you should have the volume at max on the phone. You've probably already done that, so moving on...

Some devices have different line level outputs for the aux. One of my phones a few years ago had two options, and by selecting the high output option it balanced the volume levels between the radio and the aux input. I think that's the level the radio is expecting, whereas your phone is expecting to output for headphones first, aux second. A couple of my phones, including my current one, did not have anything like this in the settings.

For your particular situation, if you have the volume on your phone cranked 100% on a wired connection and you're still getting very low volume, I'd check the plug connection. I had a few times where the volume would just drop super low, like what you're describing, and just from pulling the stereo, pulling the cable out and re-inserting, everything has been fine for over a year since. Not sure if there is a reason for it, just saying that it helped.
Jump to top JamesSJ1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Mar-13-2018, 05:35:31 PM   #4
oceansize
Kwisatz Haderach
 
oceansize's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 222
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 oceansize is on a distinguished road
Location: TN

United States




Default Re: Aux Cable Volume Problems

OP, I'm sure you did but to just make sure, did you adjust the Auxillary Line Level on the head unit all the way up?
__________________
2003 M3 Convertible SMG w/Hardtop
KW V2 Coilovers
ESS VT1-475 Gen 3 Supercharger
Stoptech Brakes
MRR GT-1 Wheels
TTFS SMG Tune
Rogue Eng. Diablo Exhaust w/ SS Tips
Rogue Eng. Rasp Pipe
Redish Reinforcement Plates
Polyurethane Rear Subframe Bushings
Polyurethane Differential Bushings
Beisan Oil Pump Disk
Jump to top oceansize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Mar-13-2018, 06:13:50 PM   #5
JamesSJ1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 347
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 JamesSJ1 is on a distinguished road
Location: Fremont, CA

United States




Default Re: Aux Cable Volume Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by oceansize View Post
OP, I'm sure you did but to just make sure, did you adjust the Auxillary Line Level on the head unit all the way up?
I have the same factory Nav as the OP, and I've never seen an Aux line level control on the head unit controls. Is this part of any of the other BMW stereo units?
Jump to top JamesSJ1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Mar-13-2018, 06:15:45 PM   #6
benzthis
Registered User
 
benzthis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 862
Reputation: 0 benzthis is on a distinguished road
Location: queens

United States




Default Re: Aux Cable Volume Problems

^^^op raise your aux line level!!it should sound good after the adjustment.
__________________
Jump to top benzthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Mar-13-2018, 06:21:01 PM   #7
oceansize
Kwisatz Haderach
 
oceansize's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 222
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 oceansize is on a distinguished road
Location: TN

United States




Default Re: Aux Cable Volume Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesSJ1 View Post
I have the same factory Nav as the OP, and I've never seen an Aux line level control on the head unit controls. Is this part of any of the other BMW stereo units?
I don't have the Nav but my Harmon Kardon Business unit does have a aux line level adjustment. I just assumed the Nav would too. My bad if it doesn't.

On the non-nav, if I remember correctly you can access it by holding down the button with the note (i think). If you don't have an auxiliary input you will not get this option.
__________________
2003 M3 Convertible SMG w/Hardtop
KW V2 Coilovers
ESS VT1-475 Gen 3 Supercharger
Stoptech Brakes
MRR GT-1 Wheels
TTFS SMG Tune
Rogue Eng. Diablo Exhaust w/ SS Tips
Rogue Eng. Rasp Pipe
Redish Reinforcement Plates
Polyurethane Rear Subframe Bushings
Polyurethane Differential Bushings
Beisan Oil Pump Disk
Jump to top oceansize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Mar-13-2018, 09:27:50 PM   #8
elcidce91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 23
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 elcidce91 is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: Aux Cable Volume Problems

Where would this aux volume level be in the Nav. version of the radio?
Jump to top elcidce91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed, Mar-14-2018, 12:06:05 AM   #9
oceansize
Kwisatz Haderach
 
oceansize's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 222
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 oceansize is on a distinguished road
Location: TN

United States




Default Re: Aux Cable Volume Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by elcidce91 View Post
Where would this aux volume level be in the Nav. version of the radio?
According to this thread for the nav units you put your radio in auxiliary mode and then use the radio presets one through six to set the level. One being the lowest and six the highest.
__________________
2003 M3 Convertible SMG w/Hardtop
KW V2 Coilovers
ESS VT1-475 Gen 3 Supercharger
Stoptech Brakes
MRR GT-1 Wheels
TTFS SMG Tune
Rogue Eng. Diablo Exhaust w/ SS Tips
Rogue Eng. Rasp Pipe
Redish Reinforcement Plates
Polyurethane Rear Subframe Bushings
Polyurethane Differential Bushings
Beisan Oil Pump Disk
Jump to top oceansize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed, Mar-14-2018, 12:10:18 AM   #10
JamesSJ1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 347
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 JamesSJ1 is on a distinguished road
Location: Fremont, CA

United States




Default Re: Aux Cable Volume Problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by oceansize View Post
According to this thread for the nav units you put your radio in auxiliary mode and then use the radio presets one through six to set the level. One being the lowest and six the highest.
That's awesome. I'll report back in an hour or so if it works.

Edit: It works! Found that P3 was plenty to match my phone with the radio volume levels. You just press the radio preset buttons labeled 1-6, and in the top right corner of the screen you'll see P1 - P6 accordingly.

Last edited by JamesSJ1; Wed, Mar-14-2018 at 04:03:54 AM.
Jump to top JamesSJ1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:43:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
M3Forum.com and M3forum.net is in no way sponsored, endorsed or affiliated by or with BMW NA / BMW AG or any of it's subsidiaries or vendors.
BMW and M3 (E90 M3 | E92 M3 | E93 M3 | E46 M3 | E36 M3 | E30 M3) are registered trademarks of BMW AG.
M3Forum Terms of Service
Copyright 1999-2017 M3Forum.com
Discussing Aux Cable Volume Problems in the E46 M3 (2001-2006) Forum - Engine: S54 - Max Hp: 333 hp at 7,900 rpm / 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpm
Total Produced: 45,000+ - Years Produced: 2001 to 2006. at BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X)