BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>

Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > M3Forum Garage > M3 Track: Racing and DE
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

M3 Track: Racing and DE Best mod for speed is learning to get the most out of what you currently have. Tracks and DE's is the place to start!

Old Tue, Feb-08-2011, 04:13:33 PM   #1
Muray

United States

Default What can I expect at an HPDE?

I am thinking of attending a DE held by BMW CCA. I am a noob and have never been to any kind of DE or autocross events so I am looking forward to it. So after all the safety inspection is done, how much track time can I expect for a day? Is it half lecture, half track time kind of situation? Is a driving instructor riding with me 100% of the time since I will be brand-new to HPDE? Also, for bang for buck, is a two day event better than a one day event? Thanks.
Jump to top Muray is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Tue, Feb-08-2011, 05:30:32 PM   #2
BlazenXLT
We've had one yes, what about second breakfast?

In the garage:

United States

Default Re: What can I expect at an HPDE?

A BMW CCA event is a great place to start. You'll absolutely have an instructor with you 100% of the time. I suppose each chapter is a little different, but the last event I did with CCA was 3 x 30 minute sessions and 1 classroom session of about 45 min for each day.

Just remember to start slow. Your first session will just be about getting comfortable with the track, flag stands, pit in/out and so on... Listen to your instructor and get a ride along with them if possible. You'll learn a ton.