BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>
Loading


Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > BMW M3 Discussions > E36 M3 (1992-1999)
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

E36 M3 (1992-1999) {Euro - S50 B32 321hp @ 7400 rpm} {U.S. - S52 B32 240 hp @ 6000 rpm}
Total Produced: 71,212 - Years Produced: 1992 to 1999


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Tue, Apr-25-2017, 05:41:54 AM   #1
EurAutoJunction
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 58
Reputation: 0 EurAutoJunction is on a distinguished road

United States




Default E36 m3 auto to manual swap failed smog?

So I took my e36 m3 to get smog and the computer failed it. It passed everything except two codes for the automatic transmission. The car is no longer an automatic and there are no check engine light on. With an obd2 scanner the codes do show up on the scanner. How can I clear the codes?
I checked and there is a s52 manual DME installed.

I contacted the previous owner and he told me how his tech did it. He told me his tech cleared the codes (not through the obd2 port) with an old school bmw tool through the engine bay port. He say do not turn the car off once the codes has been cleared and go straight to the smog shop. I want to know if I can just unplug the automatic computer for the smog test and plug it back in once i'm done. Or are there any other way to get rid of the codes with a reprogram dme? I have one free retest so i'm trying to get it figured out.



By the way, my e36 m3 have a m50 manifold w/ the turner adapter kit. Just for future reference if anyone want to know if a m50 manifold on s52/m52 will pass smog or not.
__________________
17 golf gti DD
97 m3 WEEKEND TOY
89 325i SOLD
87 325is SOLD
95 525i TOTALED
87 325e SOLD
91 318is SOLD
90 240sx coupe SOLD
89 240sx hatchback SOLD
Jump to top EurAutoJunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Tue, Apr-25-2017, 03:05:53 PM   #2
gpeterson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 77
Reputation: 0 gpeterson is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: E36 m3 auto to manual swap failed smog?

Sounds like your DME is running an auto flash, should be able to flash to manual and unplug/remove the trans module. Looks like you are in Sacramento, I'm in the area and may be able to help.

The M50 manifold is very unlikely to cause an issue, looks like you passed the visual inspection.
Jump to top gpeterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed, Apr-26-2017, 05:20:14 PM   #3
Tove
They See Me Rollin'
 
Tove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 68
Reputation: 0 Tove is on a distinguished road
Location: L.A.

United States




Default Re: E36 m3 auto to manual swap failed smog?

Seems like a simple fix.
__________________


BMW Enthusiast since 1987 | Tove aka Genuine
Jump to top Tove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed, Apr-26-2017, 06:18:28 PM   #4
Baby ///M3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 187
Reputation: 0 Baby ///M3 is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: E36 m3 auto to manual swap failed smog?

I converted my M3 from auto to a six-speed manual. I also have a M50 manifold on my supercharged/aftercooled S52.

This setup shouldn't cause any issues with passing the smog. I am in CA so the same standard applies to both of us.

Hope it's a simple fix for you.

Jon
__________________
08' ///M5 - Alpine White/Indi Red: Dinan Stage II, Brembo BBK, Forgestar F10, Dinmann Carbon Fiber sides

98' ///M3 - Dakar Yellow/Black: Dinan supercharged, complete Denon/Brax audio sytem, AC Schnitzer inside and out
Jump to top Baby ///M3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed, Apr-26-2017, 08:55:45 PM   #5
Bimma360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 142
Reputation: 0 Bimma360 is on a distinguished road
Location: Philadelphia

United States




Default Re: E36 m3 auto to manual swap failed smog?

Here is my experience. Hope its helpful.

I too have a converted auto to manual. The DME was fully flashed to manual, no check engine light, no ABS/ASC issues, automatic computer still plugged in.

Its been a few years now, but if I remember correctly I THINK you need to have that automatic computer plugged in order for ABS and/or ASC to function.

Regardless, when I had my car inspected the very next time after the swap it failed b/c it threw two automatic trans related fault codes. Keep in mind the check engine light was not illuminated (but was in working order). I ended up removing the chip in the automatic computer (it just pops out, you can buy performance versions from Dinan, etc.), reset the DME for good measure, and that fixed my issue for good. No more auto trans related codes.

I can't knowledgeably tell you what the definitive issue is. Perhaps the trans computer with the chip in place is still looking for an auto trans, and throws the codes, but the DME (now flashed to Manual) doesn't know to throw a check engine light. Like I said its been a while, but I do recall reading that when you do the swap WITHOUT flashing the DME to manual, you need to remove that chip or you'll get a check engine light. So it kind of makes sense to me that even with the DME flashed, if that chip isn't removed it would still throw a code in the background.

Edit: OR the auto trans chip also stores auto related codes, and the codes I had in there were old codes from when my car was still auto, and for whatever reason they can't be flashed out after you reprogram the DME. My auto trans started acting up before I did the swap.

I'll bet you $10 taking that chip out fixes your issues. The car, at least mine does, functions just like it should in all aspects.
__________________
E30 Dinan Turbo


Last edited by Bimma360; Wed, Apr-26-2017 at 09:02:09 PM.
Jump to top Bimma360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed, Apr-26-2017, 09:48:05 PM   #6
kevinwilly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 60
Reputation: 0 kevinwilly is on a distinguished road





Default Re: E36 m3 auto to manual swap failed smog?

If you have a manual DME and you haven't recoded your EWS module to be a manual, it'll do this.

You need to find someone that can do coding. You SHOULD be able to do it with a GT1. You can definitely do it with NCSexpert. Then reset your DME adaptations and you should be good to go.
Jump to top kevinwilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Thu, Apr-27-2017, 06:23:26 AM   #7
EurAutoJunction
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 58
Reputation: 0 EurAutoJunction is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: E36 m3 auto to manual swap failed smog?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimma360 View Post
Here is my experience. Hope its helpful.

I too have a converted auto to manual. The DME was fully flashed to manual, no check engine light, no ABS/ASC issues, automatic computer still plugged in.

Its been a few years now, but if I remember correctly I THINK you need to have that automatic computer plugged in order for ABS and/or ASC to function.

Regardless, when I had my car inspected the very next time after the swap it failed b/c it threw two automatic trans related fault codes. Keep in mind the check engine light was not illuminated (but was in working order). I ended up removing the chip in the automatic computer (it just pops out, you can buy performance versions from Dinan, etc.), reset the DME for good measure, and that fixed my issue for good. No more auto trans related codes.

I can't knowledgeably tell you what the definitive issue is. Perhaps the trans computer with the chip in place is still looking for an auto trans, and throws the codes, but the DME (now flashed to Manual) doesn't know to throw a check engine light. Like I said its been a while, but I do recall reading that when you do the swap WITHOUT flashing the DME to manual, you need to remove that chip or you'll get a check engine light. So it kind of makes sense to me that even with the DME flashed, if that chip isn't removed it would still throw a code in the background.

Edit: OR the auto trans chip also stores auto related codes, and the codes I had in there were old codes from when my car was still auto, and for whatever reason they can't be flashed out after you reprogram the DME. My auto trans started acting up before I did the swap.

I'll bet you $10 taking that chip out fixes your issues. The car, at least mine does, functions just like it should in all aspects.
Your problem sound very similar to mine. The engine light is in working order and no check engine/abs/acs light on, but the two automatic tranny codes are stored in the system somehow. Last time I scanned the computer for codes and these two auto trans codes showed up. I had it cleared with the snap on tool. I'll take out the trans chip out this weekend and hope that get rid of the codes. How do you reset the DME?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinwilly View Post
If you have a manual DME and you haven't recoded your EWS module to be a manual, it'll do this.

You need to find someone that can do coding. You SHOULD be able to do it with a GT1. You can definitely do it with NCSexpert. Then reset your DME adaptations and you should be good to go.
If the ews has been deleted from the dme, do I still need to recode the ews module to a manual?
__________________
17 golf gti DD
97 m3 WEEKEND TOY
89 325i SOLD
87 325is SOLD
95 525i TOTALED
87 325e SOLD
91 318is SOLD
90 240sx coupe SOLD
89 240sx hatchback SOLD
Jump to top EurAutoJunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Thu, Apr-27-2017, 06:28:12 AM   #8
EurAutoJunction
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 58
Reputation: 0 EurAutoJunction is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: E36 m3 auto to manual swap failed smog?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baby ///M3 View Post
I converted my M3 from auto to a six-speed manual. I also have a M50 manifold on my supercharged/aftercooled S52.

This setup shouldn't cause any issues with passing the smog. I am in CA so the same standard applies to both of us.

Hope it's a simple fix for you.

Jon
yeah, I was talking about passing the tailpipe test. Some people worried a m50 manifold on a m52/s52 might not pass CA smog test, so I was just referring it to that. If it wasn't for the two auto trans codes, i'll be passing with flying color. As you can see in the photo, it had no problem passing the tailpipe test and it is quite clean for a car of this aged.
__________________
17 golf gti DD
97 m3 WEEKEND TOY
89 325i SOLD
87 325is SOLD
95 525i TOTALED
87 325e SOLD
91 318is SOLD
90 240sx coupe SOLD
89 240sx hatchback SOLD
Jump to top EurAutoJunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Thu, Apr-27-2017, 06:29:30 AM   #9
EurAutoJunction
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 58
Reputation: 0 EurAutoJunction is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: E36 m3 auto to manual swap failed smog?

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpeterson View Post
Sounds like your DME is running an auto flash, should be able to flash to manual and unplug/remove the trans module. Looks like you are in Sacramento, I'm in the area and may be able to help.

The M50 manifold is very unlikely to cause an issue, looks like you passed the visual inspection.
I don't think it has an automatic flash. The rpm doesn't hang between shift.
I'll contact you if removing the auto trans chip doesn't work out. Thank you.
__________________
17 golf gti DD
97 m3 WEEKEND TOY
89 325i SOLD
87 325is SOLD
95 525i TOTALED
87 325e SOLD
91 318is SOLD
90 240sx coupe SOLD
89 240sx hatchback SOLD
Jump to top EurAutoJunction is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Thu, Apr-27-2017, 03:44:10 PM   #10
Bimma360
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 142
Reputation: 0 Bimma360 is on a distinguished road
Location: Philadelphia

United States




Default Re: E36 m3 auto to manual swap failed smog?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EurAutoJunction View Post
Your problem sound very similar to mine. The engine light is in working order and no check engine/abs/acs light on, but the two automatic tranny codes are stored in the system somehow. Last time I scanned the computer for codes and these two auto trans codes showed up. I had it cleared with the snap on tool. I'll take out the trans chip out this weekend and hope that get rid of the codes. How do you reset the DME?
Sorry, by reseting the DME I meant simply clearing the codes. I have a peak tool that reads codes, and has the ability to clear codes (what I call reset - haha grew up on Nintendo and Sega Genesis).
__________________
E30 Dinan Turbo

Jump to top Bimma360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:46:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
M3Forum.com and M3forum.net is in no way sponsored, endorsed or affiliated by or with BMW NA / BMW AG or any of it's subsidiaries or vendors.
BMW and M3 (E90 M3 | E92 M3 | E93 M3 | E46 M3 | E36 M3 | E30 M3) are registered trademarks of BMW AG.
M3Forum Terms of Service
Copyright 1999-2017 M3Forum.com
Discussing Informational thread: "Should I buy an E36 M3?" in the E36 M3 (1992-1999) Forum - {Euro - S50 B32 321hp @ 7400 rpm} {U.S. - S52 B32 240 hp @ 6000 rpm}
Total Produced: 71,212 - Years Produced: 1992 to 1999 at BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X)