BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>
Loading


Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > BMW M3 Discussions > E46 M3 (2001-2006) > Coding and Tuning
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

Coding and Tuning Discuss all avenues of coding and tuning here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Tue, Dec-04-2018, 05:49:41 AM   #1
gc86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 565
Reputation: 0 gc86 is on a distinguished road
Location: NorCal

United States




Default Swapping DME/EWS (to preserve a AA SC tune)

Hey guys,

I have a interesting question I thought some of you might be able to answer. I'm getting ready to remove a AA kit from my M3 and from what I've seen, most buyers are inclined to purchase a used kit if they don't need to shell out a grand for tuning after the fact.

So my question is, if I remove my DME and EWS (key lock cylinders too), are they hot swappable into another M3? my brain tells me that additional coding would be required but from my understanding this DME is locked down by AA after it gets sent off to their facility for tuning.

Thoughts?

p.s. I tried the guys at AA but it doesn't seem to be a question they want to answer
__________________
11' Prius I
15' 981 GTS - Gone
02' //HPF M3 Alpine White/Imola - Gone
Jump to top gc86 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Tue, Dec-04-2018, 05:50:47 AM   #2
jony787
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 79
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 jony787 is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: Swapping DME/EWS (to preserve a AA SC tune)

Inbox


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Jump to top jony787 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Dec-04-2018, 06:04:05 AM   #3
terraphantm
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11,269
In the garage:
Reputation: 11 terraphantm is on a distinguished road
Location: Philadelphia

United States




Default Re: Swapping DME/EWS (to preserve a AA SC tune)

Just read the full dump with one of the many apps out there and send that file to the buyer. If it happens to be locked down, try BDM.
__________________
Jump to top terraphantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Dec-04-2018, 07:03:26 AM   #4
gc86
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 565
Reputation: 0 gc86 is on a distinguished road
Location: NorCal

United States




Default Re: Swapping DME/EWS (to preserve a AA SC tune)

Quote:
Originally Posted by terraphantm View Post
Just read the full dump with one of the many apps out there and send that file to the buyer. If it happens to be locked down, try BDM.
Pulling the dump now, hope my battery is good. I left it alone down there lol..
__________________
11' Prius I
15' 981 GTS - Gone
02' //HPF M3 Alpine White/Imola - Gone
Jump to top gc86 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Wed, Dec-05-2018, 05:17:23 PM   #5
geargrndr
Working for Nefarious Porpoises
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 836
Reputation: 0 geargrndr is on a distinguished road
Location: AndoverRockport MA & Intl

United States




Default Re: Swapping DME/EWS (to preserve a AA SC tune)

I don't recall hearing AA did any encryption stuff but haven't worked with one.

For sure I always advise kit buyers to discount any used gear by a grand at least - depending on the kit/motor/setup... if the original kitmaker sells the software easily well then the discount figure and situation is clear and straightforward, but with some kits its not. So this is absolutely the right thing to do. Swapping DME/EWS (and lock cylinder) is a PITA and ends up with secondary knock-on problems like VINs in clusters and LCM's not matching the ones in the DME and EWS, and needing to either swap door lock cylinders too or carry 2 keys or or or... so, really this is the ideal solution.

Now just because the full read completes doesn't mean it will work... GIAC encrypts their tunes by modifying programs so you can read them out and even write them to a new DME, and it'll look all fine, but after the flash it won't work unless you use some kind of a low-level-full-hardware-read type technology (boot-read/BDM/etc.) Some kind of sneaky proprietary checksum / validation deal that checks for specific data contained in the adaptations area that doesn't get written by standard flash routines I suspect.

But like I said, I haven't heard AA does that.
__________________
2003 M3CicM6 TiAg
2002 540iT Sport Vortech S/C 6MT LSD TiAg
2008 Audi A3 2.0T DSG (hers)
1999 Cherokee Sport 4L (trailer-hitched in-law loaner bomber)

Recently Former...
1995.5 Audi S6 Avant (utility/winter billetturbobattlewagen)


Jump to top geargrndr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:35:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
M3Forum.com and M3forum.net is in no way sponsored, endorsed or affiliated by or with BMW NA / BMW AG or any of it's subsidiaries or vendors.
BMW and M3 (E90 M3 | E92 M3 | E93 M3 | E46 M3 | E36 M3 | E30 M3) are registered trademarks of BMW AG.
M3Forum Terms of Service
Copyright 1999-2017 M3Forum.com
Discussing Swapping DME/EWS (to preserve a AA SC tune) in the Coding and Tuning Forum - Discuss all avenues of coding and tuning here! at BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X)