BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>
Loading


Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > M3Forum Garage > Audio/In Car Entertainment (I.C.E.)
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

Audio/In Car Entertainment (I.C.E.) Place to discuss sights and sounds.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mon, Oct-23-2006, 01:45:35 AM   #41
tom @ eas
M3Forum Sponsor
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10,995
Reputation: 0 tom @ eas is on a distinguished road





Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jako1
Once again.... you da man. Worked once the full reinitialization step was done.

Why would this be?
Sometimes a quick reboot is needed to get things in working order - something chould have changed in the settings of the iPod, not have been ejected properly, etc.

The important part is you're up and running.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Jump to top tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Mon, Oct-23-2006, 11:37:09 PM   #42
Wing-nuT
Huge Member
 
Wing-nuT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 32
Reputation: 0 Wing-nuT is on a distinguished road
Location: Scotts Valley





Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vjd3
Tom, brand 30gb video iPod, just purchased (refurbished) from Apple and updated with the iPod updater ... I'm mystified. Sometimes during playback the nav. radio will suddenly switch to the AM radio, as well, that's happened a couple of times. But the little volume dip happens constantly.
Tom,

I never saw this original post, but it sounds similar to a problem I am having with the DICE unit I just got from you guys.

I have a 3G iPod w/firmware v2.3.

While playing, I get intermittent dips in volume.

Also, while hooked up, my iPod always displays "OK to disconnect" and I can't get to the menus to use the iPod to change songs/settings....

If I reboot the iPod it fixes the issue, but I have to do this every time I want to use the player. If I disconnect and reconnect the player, it goes away and comes right back again, no change. This procedure is really not acceptible for every day use. After a reboot it resets me back to song 1.

I have tried your recommended procedure of disconnecting the battery and touching the leads together. Then I waited 10 minutes before putting it all back together again.

What's the deal-e-o?

Darren
Jump to top Wing-nuT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mon, Oct-23-2006, 11:41:12 PM   #43
tom @ eas
M3Forum Sponsor
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10,995
Reputation: 0 tom @ eas is on a distinguished road





Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wing-nuT
Tom,

I never saw this original post, but it sounds similar to a problem I am having with the DICE unit I just got from you guys.

I have a 3G iPod w/firmware v2.3.

While playing, I get intermittent dips in volume.

Also, while hooked up, my iPod always displays "OK to disconnect" and I can't get to the menus to use the iPod to change songs/settings....

If I reboot the iPod it fixes the issue, but I have to do this every time I want to use the player. If I disconnect and reconnect the player, it goes away and comes right back again, no change. This procedure is really not acceptible for every day use. After a reboot it resets me back to song 1.

I have tried your recommended procedure of disconnecting the battery and touching the leads together. Then I waited 10 minutes before putting it all back together again.

What's the deal-e-o?

Darren
The "ok to disconnect" message means the iPod has not fully reverted back to its original state - are you ejecting the iPod before unplugging it from the computer?
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Jump to top tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Oct-24-2006, 12:06:28 AM   #44
Wing-nuT
Huge Member
 
Wing-nuT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 32
Reputation: 0 Wing-nuT is on a distinguished road
Location: Scotts Valley





Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas
The "ok to disconnect" message means the iPod has not fully reverted back to its original state - are you ejecting the iPod before unplugging it from the computer?
Yes, I had ejected it properly the last time it was connected to my laptop. The "OK to disconnect" doesn't show up on the iPod's screen until I plug it into the DICE cable.

Darren
Jump to top Wing-nuT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Oct-24-2006, 12:42:59 AM   #45
tom @ eas
M3Forum Sponsor
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10,995
Reputation: 0 tom @ eas is on a distinguished road





Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wing-nuT
Yes, I had ejected it properly the last time it was connected to my laptop. The "OK to disconnect" doesn't show up on the iPod's screen until I plug it into the DICE cable.

Darren
Do you know someone with an iPod you can test with your current setup? This will determine if the iPod or the DICE is to blame.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Jump to top tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Oct-24-2006, 12:45:34 AM   #46
Wing-nuT
Huge Member
 
Wing-nuT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 32
Reputation: 0 Wing-nuT is on a distinguished road
Location: Scotts Valley





Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas
Do you know someone with an iPod you can test with your current setup? This will determine if the iPod or the DICE is to blame.
I will see if I do.

Any ideas about the volume dips? Sounds a little like when you loose an internet stream for a split second.

Darren
Jump to top Wing-nuT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Oct-24-2006, 12:53:26 AM   #47
tom @ eas
M3Forum Sponsor
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10,995
Reputation: 0 tom @ eas is on a distinguished road





Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wing-nuT
I will see if I do.

Any ideas about the volume dips? Sounds a little like when you loose an internet stream for a split second.

Darren
Could be related to the initialization problem you are having - let's diagnose that first.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Jump to top tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Oct-24-2006, 06:29:32 AM   #48
Moorea
Registered User
 
Moorea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 146
Reputation: 0 Moorea is on a distinguished road
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona





Default

I have a question:

I recently weighed my options for iPod integration and decided to try the EAS product. Note I have a 2002.5 Cab with navigation and 6 disc changer.

The install went smooth based on the EAS DIY, pulled out the fuses, the trunk trim panel, got to the leads from the CD changer carefully unplugged and plugged them into the Dice interface cable, ran it up through my euro tray, checked all connections and re-assembled the trunk, backseat, fuses and center trays.

The moment of truth, turn the key and nothing. The nav screen comes on but the radio will not power up. Checked the fuses and their good. Strange thing is the nav is stuck on "scale" 5 miles, 10 miles, etc. Mode and all other buttons are not functioning. Ipod is 4th Gen with latest firmware update.

I did the 6 step battery disconnect/reboot but to no avail.

Any support at this point would be greatly appreciated.
Jump to top Moorea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Oct-24-2006, 06:46:08 AM   #49
tom @ eas
M3Forum Sponsor
 
tom @ eas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 10,995
Reputation: 0 tom @ eas is on a distinguished road





Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moorea
I have a question:

I recently weighed my options for iPod integration and decided to try the EAS product. Note I have a 2002.5 Cab with navigation and 6 disc changer.

The install went smooth based on the EAS DIY, pulled out the fuses, the trunk trim panel, got to the leads from the CD changer carefully unplugged and plugged them into the Dice interface cable, ran it up through my euro tray, checked all connections and re-assembled the trunk, backseat, fuses and center trays.

The moment of truth, turn the key and nothing. The nav screen comes on but the radio will not power up. Checked the fuses and their good. Strange thing is the nav is stuck on "scale" 5 miles, 10 miles, etc. Mode and all other buttons are not functioning. Ipod is 4th Gen with latest firmware update.

I did the 6 step battery disconnect/reboot but to no avail.

Any support at this point would be greatly appreciated.
Sounds like something was accidently disconnected during installation. Retrace your steps to see if anything is loose or disconnected, or disconnect the DICE kit to see if the features return.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com web: www.europeanautosource.com tel 866.669.0705 ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG FACEBOOK YOUTUBE FLICKR INSTAGRAM
Jump to top tom @ eas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Tue, Oct-24-2006, 07:00:33 AM   #50
Moorea
Registered User
 
Moorea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 146
Reputation: 0 Moorea is on a distinguished road
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona





Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas
Sounds like something was accidently disconnected during installation. Retrace your steps to see if anything is loose or disconnected, or disconnect the DICE kit to see if the features return.
We'll do, appreciate the after hours support!
Jump to top Moorea is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
dice, eas, integration, ipod, kit, official, q or a, thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
▀▄ eas | Official DICE SILVERLINE iPod Integration Kit Q/A Thread tom @ eas Audio/In Car Entertainment (I.C.E.) 489 Mon, Jun-25-2012 04:07:21 PM
[eas] *** DIY TUTORIAL - DICE iPod integration kit in e46 Coupe *** tom @ eas Audio/In Car Entertainment (I.C.E.) 44 Tue, Sep-08-2009 06:17:53 PM
[eas] Official DICE High Definition Radio (w/ iPod support) Q/A thread tom @ eas Audio/In Car Entertainment (I.C.E.) 304 Thu, Jul-23-2009 04:31:29 AM
▀▄ eas | ** NEW RELEASE ** DICE Universal RDS iPod Integration kit for BMW tom @ eas Parts for Sale/Wanted 8 Mon, Jul-14-2008 06:41:44 PM
[eas] DICE iPod integration kit for BMWs with NAV - now shipping! tom @ eas M3Forum Sponsors 5 Mon, Jun-12-2006 10:13:40 PM



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:19:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
M3Forum.com and M3forum.net is in no way sponsored, endorsed or affiliated by or with BMW NA / BMW AG or any of it's subsidiaries or vendors.
BMW and M3 (E90 M3 | E92 M3 | E93 M3 | E46 M3 | E36 M3 | E30 M3) are registered trademarks of BMW AG.
M3Forum Terms of Service
Copyright 1999-2017 M3Forum.com
Discussing [eas] Official DICE iPod integration kit Q/A thread in the Audio/In Car Entertainment (I.C.E.) Forum - Place to discuss sights and sounds. at BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X)