BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>

Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > BMW M3 Discussions > E46 M3 (2001-2006) > Coding and Tuning
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

Coding and Tuning Discuss all avenues of coding and tuning here!

Old Tue, Oct-16-2018, 05:39:48 PM   #1

In the garage:

United States

Default Can't get a read off the DME after tune (supposedly not locked)

Hello everyone, this is my first time i this section so forgive me if this is a noobish question/problem. I did a search but most information is over my head/lacking the context I need to understand. Anyway I took the car to Randy at Epic a while back to have the car custom dyno tuned. Afterwards the first problem I ran into was when I tried data logging, Prologger and Protuner would no longer read the DME. I assumed it was because that SW was licensed through TTFS so I could just no longer access it. Then I realized I couldn't connect to it to INPA either. Last week I decided to try bmwflasher so I could play around on ecuworx; couldn't get a read either, it gets an error and saves a zero memory file. Yesterday I tried the thing I should have tired first which was use Randy's interface SW since I had the ECI cable from him I just never bothered to try to use it. I was able to pull/clear DTC codes but couldn't use the read DME feature it wouldn't read the DME either. I reached out to Randy and he said yes they do encrypt the file but it should not interfere with diagnostic tools so he thinks I have something else going on. I've been procrastinating on this issue a while but now that I'm putting a new motor in the car this weekend I'm starting to get urgent to get this resolved so I'll be able to have the car retuned without issue. Is there anything else I should