BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>
Loading


Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > BMW M3 Discussions > E46 M3 (2001-2006)
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

E46 M3 (2001-2006) Engine: S54 - Max Hp: 333 hp at 7,900 rpm / 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpm
Total Produced: 45,000+ - Years Produced: 2001 to 2006.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sat, Jul-15-2017, 05:29:28 PM   #1
vwrado
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 168
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 vwrado is on a distinguished road
Location: OC

United States




Default Anyone used Riot Racing cams?

I have seen Riot Racing cams talked about quite often in the e36 M3 world but I have yet to hear about it for the s54 engine. I just noticed Riot Racing offers performance cams for e46 M3 for only $400 with core exchange or $750 straight out. Price seems very attractive. Just wondering if anyone have any experience with these for the s54 platform.
http://www.westcoastriots.com/
__________________
03.5 M3 Dakar Yellow | CSL intake | TTFS Tune | Ground control coilovers
00 M Coupe
Jump to top vwrado is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Sat, Jul-15-2017, 05:35:41 PM   #2
rpearl555
So Shiny So Chrome
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 574
Reputation: 0 rpearl555 is on a distinguished road
Location: Florida

United States




Default Re: Anyone used Riot Racing cams?

This is interesting but I didn't see on the listing what the actual specs are for the cams, just that dyno results aren't in and they're plenty of happy customers lol.
Also I wonder how cams are affected strength and accuracy wise when they're regrinds.
Jump to top rpearl555 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jul-15-2017, 06:51:59 PM   #3
T3AMFiSh
Your mom goes to college
 
T3AMFiSh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 301
Reputation: 0 T3AMFiSh is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: Anyone used Riot Racing cams?

Had them in my s52, very good cams, no they won't give out the specs, probably because they are very similar they schrick cams. Very worth the money, good customer service as well
Jump to top T3AMFiSh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jul-15-2017, 07:02:13 PM   #4
rpearl555
So Shiny So Chrome
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 574
Reputation: 0 rpearl555 is on a distinguished road
Location: Florida

United States




Default Re: Anyone used Riot Racing cams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by T3AMFiSh View Post
Had them in my s52, very good cams, no they won't give out the specs, probably because they are very similar they schrick cams. Very worth the money, good customer service as well

Huh? they wouldn't give out specs because they're similar to schrick?

Any proof that they are indeed similar to schrick? And in what way?

I mean I'm all in if they're just cheap ass no name schrick cams but I highly doubt that
Jump to top rpearl555 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jul-15-2017, 07:09:29 PM   #5
Braymond141
Registered User
 
Braymond141's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 19,603
Reputation: 0 Braymond141 is an unknown quantity at this point
Location: Oakhurst, CA

United States




Default Re: Anyone used Riot Racing cams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpearl555 View Post
Huh? they wouldn't give out specs because they're similar to schrick?

Any proof that they are indeed similar to schrick? And in what way?

I mean I'm all in if they're just cheap ass no name schrick cams but I highly doubt that
He will not give out specs. What Tamefish is trying to tell you is the reason for that is likely due to them being reground into a copy of another product. If that is true, it is very obvious why they will not give out specs.

No name cams? They use your stock BMW cams as cores and regrind them.

T3ME. I wouldn't say their customer service is great. It is nonexistent when there are issues with the product. I've never heard of issues with the cams though and I planned to send my spare S54 set off to him.

Quote:
We do not provide the specs. I have had tuners ask for the profile but in reality knowing the profile doesn’t change their approach. I typically tell them, tune for Schricks and adjust from there.

Thanks,
Todd Haroutunian
Riot Racing
www.WestCoastRiots.com
__________________

1996 M3 Journal | MSportParts
Jump to top Braymond141 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jul-15-2017, 07:25:10 PM   #6
rpearl555
So Shiny So Chrome
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 574
Reputation: 0 rpearl555 is on a distinguished road
Location: Florida

United States




Default Re: Anyone used Riot Racing cams?

Ah okay that clarifies things

Seems like a decent gamble
Jump to top rpearl555 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jul-15-2017, 09:07:15 PM   #7
aznbo187
XIII
 
aznbo187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,114
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 aznbo187 has a spectacular aura about
Location: West Hills, CA

United States




Default Re: Anyone used Riot Racing cams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Braymond141 View Post
He will not give out specs. What Tamefish is trying to tell you is the reason for that is likely due to them being reground into a copy of another product. If that is true, it is very obvious why they will not give out specs.

No name cams? They use your stock BMW cams as cores and regrind them.

T3ME. I wouldn't say their customer service is great. It is nonexistent when there are issues with the product. I've never heard of issues with the cams though and I planned to send my spare S54 set off to him.
Oh, I know of that person. He used to run the FSAE team at my university and was pretty heavily invested into engineering at that point. Smart guy - this gives me some trust. Can look into asking for some more info or GB if there is interest.
__________________
no.13
Jump to top aznbo187 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jul-15-2017, 10:44:22 PM   #8
Ramp1
Registered User
 
Ramp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,098
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 Ramp1 is on a distinguished road
Location: Guelph

Canada




Default Re: Anyone used Riot Racing cams?

You can't regrind a cam with a bigger lobe or wider duration unless you add material or change rocker arm ratio (we have followers not rocker arms). How are they turning stock i to Schrick spec?
__________________

Last edited by Ramp1; Sat, Jul-15-2017 at 10:53:21 PM.
Jump to top Ramp1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jul-15-2017, 11:13:57 PM   #9
T3AMFiSh
Your mom goes to college
 
T3AMFiSh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 301
Reputation: 0 T3AMFiSh is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: Anyone used Riot Racing cams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramp1 View Post
You can't regrind a cam with a bigger lobe or wider duration unless you add material or change rocker arm ratio (we have followers not rocker arms). How are they turning stock i to Schrick spec?
You can actually, or in a sense mimic it in another direction, just how old school GM flat tappet cams were done, by removing some of the base circles

Also if one was so inclined, has the right measurement tools or is in good with an engine builder, one could measure the cams themselves

I too have a spare set of s54 cams and I totally forgot they do S54 now, I think I know what to do with my spare set

Last edited by T3AMFiSh; Sat, Jul-15-2017 at 11:18:28 PM.
Jump to top T3AMFiSh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sun, Jul-16-2017, 12:08:40 AM   #10
Ramp1
Registered User
 
Ramp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,098
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 Ramp1 is on a distinguished road
Location: Guelph

Canada




Default Re: Anyone used Riot Racing cams?

Quote:
Originally Posted by T3AMFiSh View Post
You can actually, or in a sense mimic it in another direction, just how old school GM flat tappet cams were done, by removing some of the base circles

Also if one was so inclined, has the right measurement tools or is in good with an engine builder, one could measure the cams themselves

I too have a spare set of s54 cams and I totally forgot they do S54 now, I think I know what to do with my spare set
Interesting, so with the S54 you take up the slack with thicker shims??
__________________
Jump to top Ramp1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:25:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
M3Forum.com and M3forum.net is in no way sponsored, endorsed or affiliated by or with BMW NA / BMW AG or any of it's subsidiaries or vendors.
BMW and M3 (E90 M3 | E92 M3 | E93 M3 | E46 M3 | E36 M3 | E30 M3) are registered trademarks of BMW AG.
M3Forum Terms of Service
Copyright 1999-2017 M3Forum.com
Discussing Anyone used Riot Racing cams? in the E46 M3 (2001-2006) Forum - Engine: S54 - Max Hp: 333 hp at 7,900 rpm / 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpm
Total Produced: 45,000+ - Years Produced: 2001 to 2006. at BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X)