BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>
Loading


Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > BMW M3 Discussions > E46 M3 (2001-2006)
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

E46 M3 (2001-2006) Engine: S54 - Max Hp: 333 hp at 7,900 rpm / 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpm
Total Produced: 45,000+ - Years Produced: 2001 to 2006.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Fri, Jan-12-2018, 03:18:32 AM   #101
icecream
Registered Apples
 
icecream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Age: 13
Posts: 2,175
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 icecream is on a distinguished road
Location: PNW

United States




Default Re: Obioban's Avin Avant 3 thread (eventually DIY to delete all stereo modules/harnes

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoopy128 View Post
Just a question guys, if u have the nav package etc and you are removing the cd and nav system do you have to recode it and remove the nav package?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I don't see why bothering. I did not code mine out.
Unless you don't want DIS catching any errors but that doesn't affect anything.
Jump to top icecream is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Fri, Jan-12-2018, 04:21:41 AM   #102
terraphantm
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10,992
In the garage:
Reputation: 11 terraphantm is on a distinguished road
Location: Philadelphia

United States




Default Re: Obioban's Avin Avant 3 thread (eventually DIY to delete all stereo modules/harnes

You shouldn't have to recode anything. There is a function in the climate control panel that apparently has something to do with the navigation, but I suspect it might just be a lighting adjustment for its position in nav cars.

Otherwise as far as I can tell, the only other module that cares about the navigation system is the instrument cluster. One function is the speed limit thing which you can still set via the Avin. The other function is the distance to the next turn, which I guess won't work anymore (but leaving it enabled shouldn't hurt anything).
__________________
Jump to top terraphantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Fri, Jan-12-2018, 06:40:40 AM   #103
scoopy128
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 118
Reputation: 0 scoopy128 is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: Obioban's Avin Avant 3 thread (eventually DIY to delete all stereo modules/harnes

Oh ok thanks reason i ask because when im using my ista if i dont see the navigation in my radios menu it takes like 15 mins to scan my car and read all the modules and it will show a nav error. But sometimes if my nav is working it can finish the scan in just like 2 mins hehe


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Jump to top scoopy128 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Fri, Jan-12-2018, 12:17:11 PM   #104
terraphantm
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10,992
In the garage:
Reputation: 11 terraphantm is on a distinguished road
Location: Philadelphia

United States




Default Re: Obioban's Avin Avant 3 thread (eventually DIY to delete all stereo modules/harnes

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoopy128 View Post
Oh ok thanks reason i ask because when im using my ista if i dont see the navigation in my radios menu it takes like 15 mins to scan my car and read all the modules and it will show a nav error. But sometimes if my nav is working it can finish the scan in just like 2 mins hehe


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If you remove the nav option code, it'll just look for the standard radio instead which will give the same issue.
__________________
Jump to top terraphantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Fri, Jan-12-2018, 01:25:31 PM   #105
scoopy128
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 118
Reputation: 0 scoopy128 is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: Obioban's Avin Avant 3 thread (eventually DIY to delete all stereo modules/harnes

Quote:
Originally Posted by terraphantm View Post
If you remove the nav option code, it'll just look for the standard radio instead which will give the same issue.


Oh ok thanks hopefully i will be able to also install then tomorrow. So now you guys are experiencing what problems? Bluetooth disconnects once in awhile? (U guys use bluetooth for music or for calls?)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Jump to top scoopy128 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jan-13-2018, 02:05:25 AM   #106
terraphantm
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10,992
In the garage:
Reputation: 11 terraphantm is on a distinguished road
Location: Philadelphia

United States




Default Re: Obioban's Avin Avant 3 thread (eventually DIY to delete all stereo modules/harnes

If the nav unit initiates the BT connection, it seems to suddenly disconnect around 30 minutes into the drive. If I initiate the connection from my phone, it works fine seemingly indefinitely. Not sure if the bug is with the Avin or my phone on that one. I haven't hooked up the microphone yet, so I haven't tested phone calls

On another note, I went ahead and wired up my factory GPS antenna (which I had because my car came with BMW Assist) to the Avin - it works, and the signal is pretty strong (getting a fix on 10 satellites in my garage). As mentioned before, the GPS connector for the BMW Assist module is different than what navigation cars got, so the adapter Avin sells won't work.
__________________

Last edited by terraphantm; Sat, Jan-13-2018 at 02:23:55 AM.
Jump to top terraphantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jan-13-2018, 02:12:41 AM   #107
icecream
Registered Apples
 
icecream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Age: 13
Posts: 2,175
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 icecream is on a distinguished road
Location: PNW

United States




Default Re: Obioban's Avin Avant 3 thread (eventually DIY to delete all stereo modules/harnes

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoopy128 View Post
Oh ok thanks reason i ask because when im using my ista if i dont see the navigation in my radios menu it takes like 15 mins to scan my car and read all the modules and it will show a nav error. But sometimes if my nav is working it can finish the scan in just like 2 mins hehe
Is Ista another name for DIS? If it has the same interface you can scan only the modules you want by first selecting no to running tests when it prompts you and deselecting everything before scanning or "testing modules". My terminology might be off but if it's the same, you know what I mean.
Jump to top icecream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jan-13-2018, 02:24:58 AM   #108
terraphantm
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10,992
In the garage:
Reputation: 11 terraphantm is on a distinguished road
Location: Philadelphia

United States




Default Re: Obioban's Avin Avant 3 thread (eventually DIY to delete all stereo modules/harnes

Ista is the latest diagnostic suite from BMW. It wants to attempt finding all the modules the car has before it lets you do much of anything else.
__________________
Jump to top terraphantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jan-13-2018, 02:52:51 AM   #109
icecream
Registered Apples
 
icecream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Age: 13
Posts: 2,175
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 icecream is on a distinguished road
Location: PNW

United States




Default Re: Obioban's Avin Avant 3 thread (eventually DIY to delete all stereo modules/harnes

Quote:
Originally Posted by terraphantm View Post
Ista is the latest diagnostic suite from BMW. It wants to attempt finding all the modules the car has before it lets you do much of anything else.
Ah, got it. I thought he meant he was waiting for it to scan for errors.
Jump to top icecream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sat, Jan-13-2018, 12:15:32 PM   #110
scoopy128
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 118
Reputation: 0 scoopy128 is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: Obioban's Avin Avant 3 thread (eventually DIY to delete all stereo modules/harnes

Quote:
Originally Posted by terraphantm View Post
If the nav unit initiates the BT connection, it seems to suddenly disconnect around 30 minutes into the drive. If I initiate the connection from my phone, it works fine seemingly indefinitely. Not sure if the bug is with the Avin or my phone on that one. I haven't hooked up the microphone yet, so I haven't tested phone calls

On another note, I went ahead and wired up my factory GPS antenna (which I had because my car came with BMW Assist) to the Avin - it works, and the signal is pretty strong (getting a fix on 10 satellites in my garage). As mentioned before, the GPS connector for the BMW Assist module is different than what navigation cars got, so the adapter Avin sells won't work.


Only with bmw assist that you have a gps antenna? I have a block box thingy in my windshield and a mircrophpne in the pillar. The owner told me he didnt add that they came out from the dealer with that


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Jump to top scoopy128 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:52:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
M3Forum.com and M3forum.net is in no way sponsored, endorsed or affiliated by or with BMW NA / BMW AG or any of it's subsidiaries or vendors.
BMW and M3 (E90 M3 | E92 M3 | E93 M3 | E46 M3 | E36 M3 | E30 M3) are registered trademarks of BMW AG.
M3Forum Terms of Service
Copyright 1999-2017 M3Forum.com
Discussing Obioban's Avin Avant 3 thread (eventually DIY to delete all stereo modules/harness) in the E46 M3 (2001-2006) Forum - Engine: S54 - Max Hp: 333 hp at 7,900 rpm / 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpm
Total Produced: 45,000+ - Years Produced: 2001 to 2006. at BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X)