BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>
Loading


Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > BMW M3 Discussions > E46 M3 (2001-2006)
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

E46 M3 (2001-2006) Engine: S54 - Max Hp: 333 hp at 7,900 rpm / 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpm
Total Produced: 45,000+ - Years Produced: 2001 to 2006.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Wed, Feb-21-2018, 04:51:41 PM   #21
rpearl555
So Shiny So Chrome
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 672
Reputation: 0 rpearl555 has disabled reputation
Location: Florida

United States




Default Re: Dash cam hardwire - who's done it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhythim View Post
^ I have a convertible, so I'd bet the harness is somewhat different from a coupe, but there is a single switched 12v wire in the harness at the windshield header (can't remember the color-installed my cam in December). I broke out my power probe and checked every wire in the harness to find it. It's doable, but in my case was very tight, and I soldered both connections with a pencil iron. Current draw on the camera is minimal, hasn't posed a problem for the ~22-24ga wires in the harness. As far as tying in a radar detector in the future, I'd want to do more research on current draw if it were mine, especially in regards to exactly what else is on that particular circuit, because there's not a lot of copper in those wires.
Which dash cam did you go with? Any photos of your set up you could share?
Jump to top rpearl555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Wed, Feb-21-2018, 05:04:17 PM   #22
rhythim
Career parts guy
 
rhythim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Age: 46
Posts: 105
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 rhythim is on a distinguished road
Location: Nashville

United States




Default Re: Dash cam hardwire - who's done it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpearl555 View Post
Which dash cam did you go with? Any photos of your set up you could share?
I used a variant of this one.




It's pretty unobtrusive, I mounted it to the right of the housing for the RLS, right up against the plastic. It's worked really well. It fills and starts overwriting a 64GB memory card in a little over a week of daily driving. The PC software is pretty good as well.
Jump to top rhythim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed, Feb-21-2018, 05:12:59 PM   #23
rpearl555
So Shiny So Chrome
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 672
Reputation: 0 rpearl555 has disabled reputation
Location: Florida

United States




Default Re: Dash cam hardwire - who's done it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rhythim View Post
I used a variant of this one.

Amazon.com: Rexing V1 Car Dash Cam 2.4" LCD FHD 1080p 170 Degree Wide Angle Dashboard Camera Recorder with Sony Exmor Video Sensor, G-Sensor, WDR, Loop Recording: Cell Phones & Accessories

It's pretty unobtrusive, I mounted it to the right of the housing for the RLS, right up against the plastic. It's worked really well. It fills and starts overwriting a 64GB memory card in a little over a week of daily driving. The PC software is pretty good as well.
Thanks for this!
Also have a convertible and Iím looking into clean installation options.
Iíll need to find that wire you mentioned.
Have you been running the camera overnight?
Also what does RLS mean? Iím assuming you placed yours up high to the right of the rearview?
Jump to top rpearl555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed, Feb-21-2018, 05:26:14 PM   #24
rhythim
Career parts guy
 
rhythim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Age: 46
Posts: 105
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 rhythim is on a distinguished road
Location: Nashville

United States




Default Re: Dash cam hardwire - who's done it?

^RLS = Rain/Light Sensor. It's under the black plastic housing where the mirror is attached. My cam is on the glass right next to the housing where it's hard to see from the driver's seat. Wanted to make it unnoticeable to anyone not familiar with the car - like shop techs and the exceptionally rare valet.

Power wire is switched, so is only powered up when the ignition is on.
Jump to top rhythim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 06:06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
M3Forum.com and M3forum.net is in no way sponsored, endorsed or affiliated by or with BMW NA / BMW AG or any of it's subsidiaries or vendors.
BMW and M3 (E90 M3 | E92 M3 | E93 M3 | E46 M3 | E36 M3 | E30 M3) are registered trademarks of BMW AG.
M3Forum Terms of Service
Copyright ©1999-2017 M3Forum.com
Discussing Dash cam hardwire - who's done it? in the E46 M3 (2001-2006) Forum - Engine: S54 - Max Hp: 333 hp at 7,900 rpm / 262 lb/ft at 4,900 rpm
Total Produced: 45,000+ - Years Produced: 2001 to 2006. at BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X)