BMW M3 Forum
BMW M3 Forum BMW M3 Gallery BMW M3 Reviews BMW M3 Social Groups BMW M3 Chat M3Forum Sponsors >>
Loading


Mobile M3forum
Go Back   BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) > BMW M3 Discussions > E46 M3 (2001-2006) > Coding and Tuning
Tire Rack Buy Winter Tires Now!
Not a member? Register Now!
Register Gallery All Albums Garage Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar FAQ

Coding and Tuning Discuss all avenues of coding and tuning here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sun, Jul-10-2011, 08:02:58 AM   #41
terraphantm
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12,824
In the garage:
Reputation: 11 terraphantm is on a distinguished road

United States




Default Re: Comprehensive programmable option thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obioban View Post
Evolve showed me how they turn on the shift lights, and it wasn't anything like this-- it was a recode through the binary of the ECU. I suspect someone would have noticed by now if that turned on shift lights. Then again, I would have through that someone would have figured out M track mode before now as well!

That said... most of these things are reversible without any issue, you could do it and get back to us!
Yep, the shift lights are controlled by the DME. I once got them by flashing an SMG tune onto my DME, but since my car isnt actually SMG, it got stuck in limp mode. I'm not sure what you need to change in the binary, but without knowing how BMW calculates the checksums, I don't think we can use winkfp to flash non-factory tunes. The interfaces themselves should be capable of flashing anything to the DME, so theoretically a good programmer can write a program that uses our cables to read and flash custom tunes and bypass the checksum.

NCS expert cannot enable (or disable for that matter) the shift lights. As you guys discovered, that line in the AKMB is for the smg LCD and error indicator
Jump to top terraphantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Register now and remove these ads
Old Sun, Jul-10-2011, 06:25:08 PM   #42
opey
Registered User
 
opey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,770
Reputation: 0 opey is on a distinguished road
Location: Long Island

United States




Default Re: Comprehensive programmable option thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obioban View Post
I don't really know what to do with that. I like the completeness of it, but I don't have space to edit it into the original posts....
isnt that the same info thats in the PDF that you posted in the beginning of this thread?


also any of you guys know what i have to do to get my one touch UP to work again? it works for down but not up, i have to pull the switch all the way to the 2nd position and hold for the windows to go up. and its verified to be active thru ncs expert. i also have inpa and dis44 available to me
__________________

04 IR/IR 6spd
sold =(
Jump to top opey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mon, Jul-11-2011, 05:33:57 PM   #43
Flow
Registered User
 
Flow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,850
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 Flow is on a distinguished road
Location: France

France




Default Re: Comprehensive programmable option thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by opey View Post
isnt that the same info thats in the PDF that you posted in the beginning of this thread?


also any of you guys know what i have to do to get my one touch UP to work again? it works for down but not up, i have to pull the switch all the way to the 2nd position and hold for the windows to go up. and its verified to be active thru ncs expert. i also have inpa and dis44 available to me
Your problem might be the window top position "memory".
You should try to get your window all the way to the top and then hold the button for at least 5 seconds (after the window went all the way up).
This should "teach" the system where the upper position is.
Then you should be good to go with the one touch up!
At least it is like that on one of my cars, and I wouldn't be surprised if it was the same on the e46.
Keep us posted!
__________________
- Florian E46 M3 tightening torques PDF
2004 M3 TiAg / LSB SMG
Jump to top Flow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mon, Jul-11-2011, 10:38:41 PM   #44
opey
Registered User
 
opey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,770
Reputation: 0 opey is on a distinguished road
Location: Long Island

United States




Default Re: Comprehensive programmable option thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flow View Post
Your problem might be the window top position "memory".
You should try to get your window all the way to the top and then hold the button for at least 5 seconds (after the window went all the way up).
This should "teach" the system where the upper position is.
Then you should be good to go with the one touch up!
At least it is like that on one of my cars, and I wouldn't be surprised if it was the same on the e46.
Keep us posted!
i think ive tried this before and it didnt work, but ill try it again. most german cars dont respond to these simple tricks lol
__________________

04 IR/IR 6spd
sold =(
Jump to top opey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Wed, Jul-13-2011, 11:58:29 PM   #45
opey
Registered User
 
opey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,770
Reputation: 0 opey is on a distinguished road
Location: Long Island

United States




Default Re: Comprehensive programmable option thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by opey View Post

also any of you guys know what i have to do to get my one touch UP to work again? it works for down but not up, i have to pull the switch all the way to the 2nd position and hold for the windows to go up. and its verified to be active thru ncs expert. i also have inpa and dis44 available to me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flow View Post
Your problem might be the window top position "memory".
You should try to get your window all the way to the top and then hold the button for at least 5 seconds (after the window went all the way up).
This should "teach" the system where the upper position is.
Then you should be good to go with the one touch up!
At least it is like that on one of my cars, and I wouldn't be surprised if it was the same on the e46.
Keep us posted!
ok so i fixed it. turns out it wasnt anything programming related. after some heavy googling, something i read set off a lightbulb in my head. there are sensors in the top gasket for the pinch protection, i read about somebody who had them come loose or something. this reminded me about when i swapped my a-pillars, i saw a wire on each side that was plugged in but went nowhere and the end was taped. i had no idea what it was for and forgot about it. now when i bought the car, the gaskets were both messed up and the dealer replaced them for me before i picked up the car. 2+2 = they never plugged them in. too lazy to remove the pillars i guess, or maybe they tried and couldnt get the screws out. anyway i plugged them in and it worked perfect, no reset or programming needed. feels great to have them working now lol
__________________

04 IR/IR 6spd
sold =(
Jump to top opey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Thu, Jul-14-2011, 06:13:31 PM   #46
Dave B
M3 collector
 
Dave B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4,470
Reputation: 0 Dave B is on a distinguished road
Location: Miami

Italy




Default Re: Comprehensive programmable option thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obioban View Post
[B][U]Instrument Cluster:
-Cluster offset. The instrument cluster reads high by about 7-8%, this can be adjusted, so it's closer to actual speed.
Whoa, wait a minute - my speedo is off a full 7% even with OEM tire sizes? (and even more with slightly smaller diameter?) How did I never know that?

No wonder the cop didn't care when I went by him at 80.


Isn't there also a setting for allowing one-touch up to continue to work even if the door is open?
Jump to top Dave B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Thu, Jul-14-2011, 06:26:09 PM   #47
casper3t
Registered User
 
casper3t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,979
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 casper3t is on a distinguished road
Location: Anaheim

United States




Default Re: Comprehensive programmable option thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave B View Post
Isn't there also a setting for allowing one-touch up to continue to work even if the door is open?
yeah there is, when the door opens you can roll the windows up and down regardless without having the key in the ignition

FH_NACH_TUERE_AUF :Power windows when door is open
__________________
'02 Euro Tuned ///M3 6spd Carbon Black cover with a layer of dust and Grey Int.



Jump to top casper3t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Thu, Jul-14-2011, 08:41:07 PM   #48
0-60Motorsports
Established 1998....
 
0-60Motorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,000
In the garage:
Reputation: 0 0-60Motorsports is on a distinguished road
Location: Al Manama, Bahrain

Bahrain




Default Re: Comprehensive programmable option thread

Is it possible to activate triple blink indicators on 03.5 cars?
__________________
EURO 04 M3 Mods: GC DA's / Eibach Sways / PF RTABs / RE RCAs / INTRAVEE II / ///MFEST Badges / M5 SMG Knob / VCSL: Bumper + Race Lip, CF Trunk, CF Diffusor / DIETZ TV in Motion / SuperSprint: Stepped Headers, Cat Deletes, Res X-pipe, Sport Muffler / Z8 Starter Button / Lamin-X / STM Paddles / OEM CSL: Steering, Interior, Intake, CF Roof / Terra MSS54HP CSL Clone + TTFS Tune / BBS CH's, LIGHTWERKZ / ST40's / DINAN RSB / RE Race Brace / BW Oil Cooler / 3.91 gears / Radium OCC
Jump to top 0-60Motorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Thu, Jul-14-2011, 08:46:06 PM   #49
Keegan99
Registered User
 
Keegan99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 89
Reputation: 0 Keegan99 is on a distinguished road
Location: Austin

United States




Default Re: Comprehensive programmable option thread

Quote:
Is it possible to activate triple blink indicators on 03.5 cars?
Out of the factory, unfortunately not. If you've received a new OEM LCM since '06, then yes.

I have a 2005.5 and can't do it. Friends with 06's can. I believe some of the later '05's can as well, though I haven't confirmed it personally.
Jump to top Keegan99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mon, Jul-18-2011, 09:00:04 PM   #50
ltbong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 283
Reputation: 0 ltbong is on a distinguished road
Location: Austin

United States




Default Re: Comprehensive programmable option thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave B View Post
Whoa, wait a minute - my speedo is off a full 7% even with OEM tire sizes? (and even more with slightly smaller diameter?) How did I never know that?

No wonder the cop didn't care when I went by him at 80.


Isn't there also a setting for allowing one-touch up to continue to work even if the door is open?
Which parameter needs to be modified to turn off the cluster offset?
__________________
2006 Interlagos/Cinnamon



Tools for Loan

MIS RTAB Tool
http://www.m3forum.net/m3forum/showthread.php?t=406072
OEM VANOS Timing Tool
http://www.m3forum.net/m3forum/showthread.php?t=406073
Jump to top ltbong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:45:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
M3Forum.com and M3forum.net is in no way sponsored, endorsed or affiliated by or with BMW NA / BMW AG or any of it's subsidiaries or vendors.
BMW and M3 (E90 M3 | E92 M3 | E93 M3 | E46 M3 | E36 M3 | E30 M3) are registered trademarks of BMW AG.
M3Forum Terms of Service
Copyright 1999-2017 M3Forum.com
Discussing Comprehensive programmable option (coding) thread in the Coding and Tuning Forum - Discuss all avenues of coding and tuning here! at BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X)