BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X)

BMW M3 Forum.com (E30 M3 | E36 M3 | E46 M3 | E92 M3 | F80/X) (http://www.m3forum.net/m3forum/index.php)
-   E36 M3 (1992-1999) (http://www.m3forum.net/m3forum/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Gauge cluster problems (http://www.m3forum.net/m3forum/showthread.php?t=596684)

bip_m3 Sat, Mar-10-2018 05:31:29 AM

Gauge cluster problems
 
My 95 m3 gauge cluster shows nothing but pppppppp (in the mileage)and nothing els is working. If no one knows how to fix can you please show me a place to buy a new one. Pelican doesnít have it nor does the dealer.

epj2.9 Sat, Mar-10-2018 02:01:49 PM

Re: Gauge cluster problems
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bip_m3 (Post 1067794853)
My 95 m3 gauge cluster shows nothing but pppppppp (in the mileage)and nothing els is working. If no one knows how to fix can you please show me a place to buy a new one. Pelican doesnít have it nor does the dealer.

It's failing/failed. Just look for a similar M3 gauge cluster (probably has to be pre-96) -- make sure it has fewer miles than your car.

Braymond141 Sat, Mar-10-2018 05:26:46 PM

Re: Gauge cluster problems
 
I have a whole box of cluster boards I would love to get rid of but I believe they are all 96-99 M3.

bip_m3 Sun, Mar-11-2018 12:09:14 AM

Re: Gauge cluster problems
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Braymond141 (Post 1067794940)
I have a whole box of cluster boards I would love to get rid of but I believe they are all 96-99 M3.

Thanks, itís been a struggle finding one for the 95 model.

SamGrant951 Sun, Mar-11-2018 01:12:22 AM

Re: Gauge cluster problems
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by epj2.9 (Post 1067794885)
It's failing/failed. Just look for a similar M3 gauge cluster (probably has to be pre-96) -- make sure it has fewer miles than your car.

Yes, buy one with lower mileage. Then have someone adjust the mileage up to match your car. No tamper light.

M_Parallel Sun, Mar-11-2018 08:05:52 PM

Re: Gauge cluster problems
 
^^
That’s with coding key.

No idea how it works with older clusters.

SamGrant951 Sun, Mar-11-2018 08:57:00 PM

Re: Gauge cluster problems
 
Im pretty sure I bought a 95? 3.0 UK cluster with no coding key (specifically for the oil temp / 7k redline vs 3.2) and a guy on BFC was able to recode the mileage to match my chassis mileage.

bip_m3 Sat, Mar-31-2018 06:02:12 AM

Re: Gauge cluster problems
 
Found one on eBay. Installed it. Than had to take it out and change some bulbs. Put it back in and it works with less miles. I am going to check with dealer if they can program to correct miles for me. Will post conclusion.

Braymond141 Sat, Mar-31-2018 06:14:24 AM

Re: Gauge cluster problems
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bip_m3 (Post 1067803692)
Found one on eBay. Installed it. Than had to take it out and change some bulbs. Put it back in and it works with less miles. I am going to check with dealer if they can program to correct miles for me. Will post conclusion.

The dealer cannot program mileage on used parts. They can only sync coding plugs (lower number to higher only) or sell you a new cluster to do "their best" to get the mileage correct.

M_Parallel Sat, Mar-31-2018 11:46:02 AM

Re: Gauge cluster problems
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bip_m3 (Post 1067803692)
Found one on eBay. Installed it. Than had to take it out and change some bulbs. Put it back in and it works with less miles. I am going to check with dealer if they can program to correct miles for me. Will post conclusion.

Tamper dot?

If not, this means the old clusters without coding key can just be swapped for lower mileage ones. Only the cluster test will shown another VIN telling you itís not the original.

Which probably can be programmed somehow.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:49:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2017 M3Forum.com