Web www.M3Forum.net

View Full Version : Heel and Toe Driving

AMPowerJ
Wed, Feb-09-2005, 01:06:05 AM
Please explain exactly how you are supposed to do this. It seems nearly impossible for me to actually brake with my toe and blip the gas pedal or vice versa. Is there are trick to it?

Jim2004M3
Wed, Feb-09-2005, 07:01:01 AM
Please explain exactly how you are supposed to do this. It seems nearly impossible for me to actually brake with my toe and blip the gas pedal or vice versa. Is there are trick to it?

Well, yes, there is a trick, called BIG WIDE FEET! <g> (Mine are 13 EEE)
On a BMW, the best way is to brake with the left half of your right foot and roll the right half onto the accellerator to blip the throttle to try to match revs on downshifts.
That said, it's very hard in BMWs. I'm an instructor for the club on track days and have driven most models. They have several problems making smooth heel&toe downshifts: 1) They are too darned quiet to hear the engine revving 2) They put a bleed valve in the clutch hydralic line that slows down the movement of the pressure plate so things happen in slow motion and 3) Pedal placement calls for someone with wide feet or a double-jointed knee.
Heel & toe is very hard to practice on the street, as you rarely are moving at sufficient speed to make it necessary and it's harder to be smooth at low speeds. But try it on the street, but only in deserted areas, as it can be embarassing in traffic (and expensive too) if your footwork screws up and you hit the wrong pedal.

///M³_
Wed, Feb-09-2005, 09:09:37 AM
My buddy has a really huge foot and claims he can't heel toe. My feet are tiny (9) and I do it constantly, even stopping for a light...

Windy City
Wed, Feb-09-2005, 03:09:47 PM
Heel-toe is not tough, and is a very streetable habit. In fact, I suggest practicing on the street so you aren't wasting expensive track time figuring out how to roll your ankle over onto the accelerator pedal.