Web www.M3Forum.net

View Full Version : Zaino Tips and Tricks

Beowoulf
Wed, Jul-07-2004, 04:20:23 AM
This information was posted on autopia.org and I hope the author doesn't mind. I have pinned this due to multiple requests.

Nick’s unsolicited Zaino Tips & Tricks

Part One

Disclaimer: I am not a professional detailer nor an expert on paint care. I’m just a charter member of the ARZOA who has a little experience with Zaino, and one of my cars is Jet Black and shows all of my mistakes!

Intro to Zaino:
The Zaino system is made up of a group of synthetic sealant products which replace carnauba as a protectant for your paint. As a general rule the synthetic sealants have longer durability, higher reflectivity, and less depth than carnauba. The Zaino polymers form a cross-linked bond with the underlying surface and this provides excellent durability.

Zaino is more reflective, has more clarity, and gives a harder surface than the other synthetics, but it also does very little to hide underlying paint defects and is very susceptible to marring.

Many detailers seem to be afraid of using Zaino … it’s too complicated, it’s too expensive, it’s too difficult to apply/buff, it’s prone to smearing, it can’t be topped with carnauba, etc. After you have read this and applied a coat or two of Zaino you’ll find that none of these worries are justified!

Paint preparation: