Web www.M3Forum.net

View Full Version : California Water Blade on Dark Color paint?

///Mperor
Sat, May-01-2004, 07:42:17 PM
I bought the California Water Blade to use on my jet black M. When I washed it the other day, after rinsing there were droplets of water, and some non-wet paint. When I went to wipe it off with the blade, it seems to stick to the paint and makes a scary noise like it's going to scratch the paint...so I stopped using it.

Anybody have experience using it on black or other dark colors? Does it leave scratches?

Sirius
Sat, May-01-2004, 08:03:16 PM
When I use it, I only use it for the inital drying part. Then I do the rest with a chamois. Reason being: Same as yours, the water acts like 'lube', allowing the blade to glide across it, when it catches dry paint, it'll rub... eh...

323i_newbie
Sun, May-02-2004, 02:39:15 AM
Those water blades worry me. Like you said if you hit some dry paint it sounds terrrible. I am no detailing professional, but my order of preference for drying is as follows: 1) Mr. Clean Autodry, 2) Leaf blower, 3) Microfiber or cotton towel.

STALKER
Sun, May-02-2004, 06:07:40 PM
My car is Topaz, so its dark. Like Sirius said, I also use it to initially dry it off and finish with something else. Its great for the hood, roof, and trunk, and the glass. I use it right after rinsing though so as to not let the water dry so there is blenty of water to act as a sort of lubricant. Its a great product IMO.

Z rated
Thu, May-06-2004, 06:43:16 AM
Exactly what everyone else said. Ill use it maybe 1/2 of the times i wash my car. And i only do it to get some water off and make it easier on the chamois so im not flinging it around my head to dry it off so often :D (btw thats the best way i find to dry my leather chamois) i hate using it on a dryed surface. So i might just give the hood like 3 or 4 sweeps. Leaving water in between the sweeps as so the blade doesnt touch any dry paint.

NRG
Thu, May-06-2004, 08:08:07 AM