Web www.M3Forum.net

View Full Version : Need some Advise

Les Hankinson
Wed, Dec-24-2003, 01:26:10 PM
I posted this in another thread, then realized the Southeast group might be a good place to ask too, so here goes:

Hello All,

Newbie here so please excuse dumb questions in advance.

I am thinking about buying a 97 M3 as a grad. present for my 22 year old son. The car is on the Atlanta Classic Cars lot here in Atlanta (a Mercedes dealer). 80K miles on the odometer, black/black 4 door automatic. Aftermarket 18" wheels, lowered, leather interior w/sunroof.

First question, does anyone on this forum know who might have owned this car? It was traded in 2 days ago.

Q2. I see what appears to be a ton of power steering fluid leaking down under the car - I will get this checked out but is this a common problem?

Q3. I would like to have the car checked out, who would you recommend in the Atlanta area?

Q4. Front tires are showing cord on the inside edges, the rest of tire iis n good shape. Any reason to believe a lowered M3 can't be aligned to fix this?

That is it for now. In the interest of full disclosure my last BMW was a 1989 535 5 speed, loved it! My current car is a 2002 Z06, I meet a lot of you guys at Panoz track days at Road Atlanta, always enjoy the company!

Thanks,

Les

BradATL
Thu, Dec-25-2003, 05:20:40 PM
Les,

Were you up at Road Atl in Nov on the Sunday open track day? I saw a couple of Z06's making good time up there. I think one (maybe both) were yellow. Was that you? We were clocking those guys on the front straight with a radar gun and were also getting lap times on you guys -- in the low 1:40's if I remember correctly. I wasn't driving that day but my buddy was driving my 2002 track car (white). It doesn't get much speed on the straightaways but handles real well in the corners. He did a 1:46 which is pretty good for a car with 145 horses at the rear wheels!